Even if it is not always fashionable or practical to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle, it’s crucial for your protection.
Nothing compares to the feeling of cruising down the freeway on your motorcycle, whether you are out for a leisurely trip with friends or an exhilarating solo ride.
In terms of disabilities that can be permanent, nothing compares to serious brain damage. Do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Louisiana?
It is said that everyone who rides a motorbike, motorized bike, or motor-driven cycle in Louisiana must wear a helmet, whether the driver or a passenger.
It would be advisable for you to read this article thoroughly so you can realize why wearing a helmet while operating a motorcycle will benefit you more.
So without further ado, let’s begin.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Louisiana
Motorcycle drivers and passengers must always wear helmets when on the road.
Since it has been demonstrated that wearing a helmet can save a life, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, this kind of safety equipment can reduce brain injuries and fatalities by 67 percent and 37 percent, respectively.
You need to understand that there are no age limits on the helmet law in Louisiana, which means that whether you are a minor or above the age of 18, you need to wear a helmet at all times.
That’s not all; riders and passengers are also authorized to wear protective eye gear that protects the eyes, safety goggles, and motorcycle helmets.
To add on, if you are someone who is going to ride a motorcycle with a child, then do keep in mind that children must be at least five years old or older and also wear a helmet as well as fit in the passenger seat for motorcycle drivers to enable them to ride with them.
No child can ride a motorcycle without a helmet as that will be too risky.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In LA
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety’s most recent statistical analysis, helmet use can reduce the risk of brain injury in motorcycle accidents by up to 67 percent.
Brain damage can have long-term consequences that could influence your life or your capacity to perform the exact job you did before the incident.
On all kinds of roads, you must always wear a motorbike helmet in Louisiana. This rule applies to both the driver and passengers of motorcycles, powered bikes, and motors cycles.
A helmet is required whether your passenger rides beside you, in a sidecar, or behind you. The law also indicates that the helmet must have a visor, interior lining, padding, and a proper working chin strap.
Both riders, as well as passengers, must fasten the chin strap when riding.
The commissioner, who is also identified as the Deputy Secretary of Corrections, and the Department of Public Safety have established precise requirements that all helmets must follow.
A safety helmet fastened by a chin strap must be worn when operating or riding a motorcycle by Louisiana Revised Statutes. A $50 fine will be imposed for any infraction.
Even while there is only a $50 fine for not wearing protective headgear, the physical repercussions could be much more severe. Therefore, you should wear a helmet at all times so you can avoid the consequences.
Furthermore, wearing a helmet that is the right size for their head is strongly advised for all motorcycle riders.
It is also worth mentioning that an excessively tight or loose helmet can increase your risk of serious head injuries in an accident. Additionally, wearing a helmet is required for any passengers riding with you.
The Helmet Law’s Exceptions
The helmet rule has a couple of exceptions as well in the state of Louisiana. Considering how specific they are, you should double-check that you are fully complying with the standards of the law.
It is explained that you can acquire an exemption license from the neighborhood police department, such as the city, town, village, or parish, if you plan to participate in a parade or other public event or exhibition.
This permission to forgo a helmet is only valid during the incident. For the ride home afterward, you must still have your helmet.
If the sort of motorbike you ride has certain safety characteristics that are equal to or better than those offered by a motorcycle helmet, roll cage, and roll bar.
You must know that a great example of this would be an auto cycle with such support.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Louisiana
Did you know that you can find outstanding attorneys in your state that will help you deal with the situations if you end up in a motorcycle accident, whether you are wearing a helmet or not.
Here I will mention the top three attorneys you can find in Louisiana. I will also provide you with their numbers and websites so you can check them out yourself.
1. Law Tigers Motorcycle Injury Lawyers – Baton Rouge
At Law Tigers, the attorneys ensure you succeed in your motorcycle accident case.
It is worth mentioning that if you end up in a motorcycle accident, the attorneys at Law Tiger provide you with free legal advice, no matter the motorcycle accident and how serious the situation is.
They also ensure that you or your family get the accurate compensation you deserve.
Phone Number: 1-888-863-7216
2. Moto Justice
The attorneys working at Moto Justice assure to provide you with their services even if it is late at night, as they will be available 24/7.
According to many feedbacks they received, it is identified that the company is known to deliver fast responses as well as win a case and provide the right compensation the rider deserves.
If you are in a motorcycle accident, feel free to contact them.
Phone Number: 1-833-GOT-MOTO
3. Neblett, Beard & Arsenault
The Neblett, Beard & Arsenault will fight for your financial rights so you can be 100% satisfied.
Attorneys working in the firm are known to be highly trained and skilled and will be super cooperative and help clear all the curiosities you might have.
They will make sure to win your case so you can be given the right compensation for the motorcycle accident you have been into.
Phone Number: +1 318-561-2500
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Louisiana?
Although there are no restrictions on wearing an open-face motorcycle helmet in the state of Louisiana, it is worth mentioning that an open-face helmet will not be able to protect your face and head while riding.
However, if you wear an open-face helmet in Louisiana, it is important to wear goggles and a helmet visor.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In Louisiana?
The fine for not wearing a motorcycle helmet in Louisiana is said to be $50. However, it is also worth mentioning that in Louisiana, the physical outcomes can be much worse than just paying a fine.
Therefore, you should wear a helmet at all times so you can avoid all the issues.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmets Become Law In Louisiana?
In 1968, the state of Louisiana became the first to enact a universal motorcycle helmet law. Only motorcyclists under 18 were subject to this law’s modification in 1976, which mandated the usage of helmets.
It is said that in 1982, Louisiana reinstated the need for wearing a motorcycle helmet at all times, no matter the age.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Louisiana?
Yes, passengers riding on a motorcycle must wear a motorcycle helmet at all times and the rider.
No matter the age, the passengers should ride with a helmet with him/her, so they do not end up with serious consequences plus, it can also never put the passing in danger while riding on the road.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Louisiana?
All motorcycles in Louisiana must wear a motorcycle helmet at all times. This also includes moped drivers as well so be sure to have a helmet with you whenever you go for a ride.
We have come to the end of this article. By now, you probably know the answer to the question of do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Louisiana.
The laws in the state of Louisiana are extremely strict about wearing a helmet. You can face serious consequences for not wearing a motorcycle helmet.
There is no age limit which means that you are required to wear a helmet at all times. Even children at the age of five have to wear a helmet in Louisiana.
Make sure to obey the motorcycle helmet laws in Louisiana as they can save lives plus keep yourself and your passengers protected.