Experiencing the wind in your hair while you drive your motorcycle is an experience like no other, but it is also very risky as you are less protected.
To ensure that you are properly equipped, the state of Kansas has set helmet laws that ensure you have maximum safety.
Not everyone will follow these rules, and many will even ask, “Do You Have to Wear A Motorcycle Helmet In Kansas?”
Unfortunately for these people, all motorcyclists that are younger than 18 are required to wear a helmet when riding their motorcycle and have their eyes protected at all times.
If you want to learn even more information about the rules and regulations set by the state of Kansas, then make sure to read the article till the end, as I will explain more obscure laws that you may not have heard of as well.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Kansas
The state of Kansas has made it official that motorcyclists under 18 are required to wear a helmet by any means.
This law also carries over to passengers, so if you are riding on a motorcycle and are under 18, you are out of luck and will need to wear a helmet.
If you or the passenger are over 18, you can easily drive around town on your motorcycle without a helmet.
Along with a helmet, people must also wear proper protection for their eyes in the form of goggles, glasses, and face shields.
Usually, you can just use the visor of your helmet, but this is not an option if you are using an open-face helmet which is why I recommend that you get a full-face helmet and use the visor that comes with it.
Alternatively, if you have adequate means of eye protection, then you can simply wear the open-face helmet and use that to protect your eyes.
Either way, you must have proper head and eye protection when driving a motorcycle in Kansas.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In KS
As is the case for most states, you will find that Kansas has also set a requirement that your helmet should be DOT approved. Kansas has also set requirements for the protection equipment you use for your eyes.
Along with this, it also mentions a method that you can use to not wear eye protection at all. However, I will personally not recommend this and urge you to take all possible precautions.
If you want to make sure that your helmet is DOT approved, then make sure it abides by the terms set by the Department of Transportation, which ensure that the helmet weighs around 3 pounds, has a sturdy chin strap, and a one-inch thick layer of polystyrene foam along with no major protrusions.
The goggles, glasses, or any face protection you use, must be impact-resistant and shatterproof.
If you are uncomfortable with glasses and goggles, you can install a windscreen or a shield on your motorcycle. This screen must be at least 10 inches tall.
Children are not known for following the rules; someone below 18 will likely take their motorcycle and ride the streets without a helmet.
While this is a dangerous and reckless act all in itself, it can also raise some trouble with the police as this is a clear violation of the rules set by the state.
Traffic police reserve the right to stop you if you are seen driving without a helmet. While this is okay if you are over 18, if you are a minor and below 18, it becomes a different story as you become liable to a fine.
You will be happy to know that this fine is nothing too major. A mere $52 is all you will have to pay; however, this is still $52 more than you need to give up.
This can also have some major legal repercussions, which I will talk about here.
If you end up in an accident and the matter goes to court, then depending on the situation and the status of you wearing a helmet.
if the court finds out that you were not wearing a helmet while being under the age of 18, then it is possible that any compensation you were entitles to might get reduced by a percentage as the jury would shift some of the blame onto you.
Helmet Rules Exceptions In Kansas
When it comes to motorcycle helmet laws, there are usually a few exceptions that make it so that motorcyclists do not have to wear helmets.
These usually correspond to a certain type of demographic, main people with specific motorcycles or mopeds.
On the other hand, you have the inclusion of certain modifications which can stop you from wearing helmets and eye protection.
If you were hoping that the state of Kansas would provide these types of exceptions, then you will be sad to hear that there is no such thing happening, and all motorcyclists and moped owners must adhere to the rules set by the state.
Regardless of what type of motorcycle you own, how fast it can go, and whether it classifies as a moped, you will have to wear a helmet if you are below 18 or risk getting pulled over and fined.
The only exception to any rules that occur within Kansas is the ability to circumvent wearing eye protection, which is only possible if your motorcycle comes with a windshield.
This exception may also complicate the matter as the state of Kansas has set various rules and requirements for utilizing windshields.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Kansas
After getting into a motorcycle accident, chances are that you are liable to receive some sort of financial aid, but if you are being denied this, then you should contact one of the talented law firms that I have listed below.
1. DeVaughn James Injury Lawyers
With a team of experienced motorcycle injury attorneys, the lawyers at DeVaughn James Injury will fight to protect your legal rights and give you personal attention if you have been in a motorcycle accident, charging you nothing unless you win.
Phone Number: +1 316 888 8888
2. Roger Fincher Attorney At Law
With 25 years of experience with motorcycle accident cases, the personal injury attorneys at this esteemed law firm are dedicated to helping you secure a fair recovery from your recent motorcycle accident and are prepared to go to trial if necessary.
Phone Number: +1 785 222 4066
3. Kansas City Accident Injury Attorneys
Acting attorneys in the Kansas City Accident Injury Attorneys offer their help and services to the people who need it the most; victims of motorcycle accidents, fighting for the best interest of their clients and providing you with the tools and resources need to move forward from the motorcycle accident.
Phone Number: (816) 542-6809
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1.Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Kansas?
As long as you are ensuring that you wear proper eye protection on top of the open-face helmet, it should be okay for you to wear one.
You can simply this entire situation if you just wear a full-face helmet with a visor and utilize it instead of getting eye protection.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In Kansas?
The state of Kansas has set a $52 fine for minors and people under 18 who are caught driving their motorcycle without wearing a helmet. To avoid this, you would be well advised to wear a helmet when driving your motorcycle.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In Kansas?
On the first of July in 1976, Kansas decided to repeal its helmet laws. Due to information gathered from studies that showed how the death rate from motorcycle accidents was much higher when not wearing a helmet, the decision to repeal the law was a good one.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Kansas?
The state of Kansas has set its helmet rules for both the passengers and the drivers of motorcycles, meaning even if you are a simple passenger on the motorcycle, if you are under 18 and in Kansas, you will have to wear a helmet; otherwise, you risk getting pulled over by the police.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Kansas?
Moped drivers are also subject to the same rules and regulations as normal bike owners.
This means that they will need to wear a helmet if they are driving a moped while being under the age of 18. If you are a moped driver over 18, you are not required to wear a helmet.
Many people just want the freedom to drive their motorcycle without a helmet and enjoy a nice ride.
But when facing the answer of “do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Kansas?,” a sad reality is shown that people under 18 must wear a helmet until they reach the age of 18.
It applies to all motorcycle and moped owners and also applies to all passengers that are under 18.
With this article coming to a close, you should be able to manage all the rules and regulations set by the state and avoid any issues with the police.
I am a passionate blogger who wants to spread my interest in motorcycles. Fueled by my love for motorcycles, I provide readers with valuable insights and updates on motorcycles’ informative and engaging topics and document the latest happenings in the biking community. Despite my hectic schedule, I can provide these blogs, which involve regular trips to the gym and sports like mountain biking and BMX. I am usually available most of the time, so be sure to join me on my journey of motorcycles and bikes! I appreciate a quiet and simple life and am always eager to interact with my readers to provide helpful information on my blog site.