There are nearly 100,000 registered motorcycle riders in Louisiana, and probably a lot more who are unregistered.
The major problem that these registered motorcycle riders have is that they can easily drive on public roads and not get fined. The same cannot be said for those who do not have a license.
With so many different rules and ways each state has to get a motorcycle license, it is no wonder why many citizens do not know how to get a motorcycle license in Louisiana.
Luckily, I have outlined all the different things you need to do to get the license. The 5 step process includes making an appointment and carrying out a course/test. This should be enough to get you your motorcycle license.
All of these steps may sound quite simple, but there are a lot of things that you have to manage between them, which is why I recommend reading the rest of the article!
Motorcycle License Requirements In Louisiana
Applying for a license is good, but you need the correct information regarding what license you can apply for and why it is necessary.
Here are the first few things you need to do before applying for a motorcycle license in Louisiana.
Knowing Your Age
Your age is a huge factor in the type of license you will get. Each state has its requirements regarding licenses, and age is a big factor.
In Louisiana, for example, you need to be at least 16 years old to apply for a specific type of license. Once you apply for your corresponding license, you must give some documents.
Age 16 – 17
Once you reach the age of 16 and want to apply for a driver’s license, you will have to provide the following documents:
- Your driver’s license.
- Any official driving record.
- Your social security card.
- Written slip of your parent’s permission.
- Proof of Insurance.
- Your place of residence.
Age 18 And Above
You will have to provide different documents for the process if you are 18 years and above. Here are the things you need to bring:
- Your driver’s license.
- Proof of Insurance.
- Your place of residence.
- Driving record.
- Social security card.
- A document showing your legal status.
Types Of Motorcycle Licenses
Louisiana does not have different types of motorcycle licenses, unlike many other states. While you may have to carry out different tasks if you are under 18, you will get the same M Class license in Louisiana.
M Class License
This is the standard motorcycle license you can get in most states. It has no restrictions regarding the vehicle you are allowed to ride and when you can ride your motorcycle.
How To Apply For Your Louisiana Motorcycle License
Now that you have a good idea of what you need to bring to the DMV if you want to get a motorcycle license in Louisiana, I can now start to explain the main steps you need to follow if you want to apply for a license.
Step 1: Get A Driver’s License
- Along with being at least 16 years of age, you also need to have a valid driver’s license to get a motorcycle license.
- If you do not have a valid driver’s license, you will have to get a new one or have it renewed to continue getting your motorcycle license.
- To get a driver’s license in Louisiana, you must first complete an education or pre-licensing course. The Department must approve this of Public Safety & Corrections.
- You will then need to apply for a driver’s license at your local OMV/ DMV.
- You will need to bring the required documentation for this as well. Most of the documents are the same as the ones for the motorcycle license.
- Hence, you can consult the list above and see what you need to bring.
- Additional documents can also be requested, so make sure you have all of the information on what you need.
- You will then be asked to carry out a series of tests. You will need to pass all of them to get your license.
- The first test you need to carry out will be a vision test.
- You will then be asked to carry out a Knowledge test
- Finally, all your skills will be tested in a road test.
- Now all you have to do is pay a fee, and you should be able to collect your driver’s license.
Step 2: Testing For Your Motorcycle License
Now that you have successfully applied for your motorcycle license, you will have to ace all the tests. These tests range from written assessments to skill-based and on-the-road.
Here, I will go into greater depth about these tests.
1. Motorcycle Written Test
The written test will comprise 25 multiple-choice questions. You will have to pass at least 20 of them, or 80%, to be able to continue with the licensing process.
If you are under 18, you must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian when taking the test.
This test will assess your knowledge and application of the traffic laws in the state of Louisiana, especially when it comes to motorcycles.
2. Motorcycle Road Test
Similar to the written test, your knowledge of traffic laws will be assessed here but now in a practical aspect.
You will have to carry out basic motorcycle maneuvers and be asked to carry out specific tasks. The whole test is brief and should not take more than 15 minutes.
The main things you will be tested on will be your acceleration, braking, turning, swerving, traffic response, and stopping.
You will need to schedule a test with your OMV.
3. Motorcycle Operator Training Course
If you do not want to carry out a written test, you must enlist in a motorcycle training course.
This course is usually in 3 different types, with the Basic Riders Course giving you the ability to skip both tests. This course is great for people who lack experience.
Step 3: Collecting Your Paperwork
Once you have completed and passed all the tests, you must return to the OMV and collect your documents. You may be asked to fill out more documents or surveys, which you should do.
Ensure to properly collect and secure your documents as they contain sensitive information.
Step 4: Go To Your Local Driver’s License Office
At this point, you should be easily able to get your motorcycle license. Simply go back to the office and pay a small fee.
Your temporary license should be handed over if you have passed all the tests. Your permanent license will be sent to you in a week or so via mail to your place of residence.
Ways To Get A Motorcycle Endorsement In LA
If you want to apply for a motorcycle endorsement, here is how you can go about doing so.
Step 1: Pass The Written And Road Test
Similar to getting your motorcycle license, you will have to carry out a series of tests; a written test and a road test. You will need to pass them to get your motorcycle endorsement.
Step 2: Carry Out A Course
Like it was described above, you can alternatively carry out a motorcycle training course which can allow you to skip the above tests and go straight to getting your endorsement.
Step 3: Collect The Endorsement
Finally, go to the OMV and hand in your documents, the same as the ones mentioned above, and collect your endorsement. One thing to note is that you will also have to pay all the fees and maybe even do a vision test.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. How Long Will It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In Louisiana?
If you apply via tests, you can get your Motorcycle license in a week at most. This is assuming you do both tests on the same day.
If you decide to take the motorcycle course, your timeline may increase by 2 to 3 days which is not that long.
Q2. How Much Will It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In Louisiana?
The road test will cost you anything between $18 and 24. The training course can cost anything between $25 and $100, depending on the course itself.
Finally, you will have to pay a $12 registration fee. The most your motorcycle license will cost you is $136 in the state of Louisiana.
Q3. Should I Have A License To Ride A Motorcycle In Louisiana?
You most definitely need to have a license in the state of Louisiana if you want to drive your motorcycle on public roads.
Failure to ride without a license can get you fined if you are ever pulled over by a police officer. You can also endanger people if you are not experienced enough.
Louisiana has a very simple structure that people can follow if they want to get their motorcycle license, but due to how the United States works and how each state has its own rules, people often get confused.
This should no longer be the case, and you should easily know how to get a motorcycle license in Louisiana.
Not only this, but you should now also have the required information needed to pass all the tests and even get a driver’s license if you do not have one already.
This will ensure that you are able to get your motorcycle license without any issues.