Motorcycle helmets have been a huge topic of debate over the last few years. While some argue that they should be mandatory, others say it’s the rider’s choice to wear a helmet.
The truth is, wearing a motorcycle helmet can save your life or prevents serious injury. Each state has its laws regarding helmets, with some even having none. One popular state which is asked about a lot is Mississippi.
People have often asked; do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Mississippi? Yes, you do! All motorcycle riders and passengers have to wear a helmet.
The law may seem simple, but there is much more to it. This article will get into the details. I would advise that you read through it without skipping over anything.
So, without any further ado, let’s get straight into it.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Mississippi
If you’re a state resident of Mississippi, you should know that the motorcycle helmet law is simple. It applies to all age groups, and drivers and passengers must wear helmets when riding.
There are no exceptions to the rule. So, whenever you are out riding, you should make sure to wear a helmet at all times.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In MS
The Mississippi state government requires all drivers to wear helmets while operating a motor vehicle.
The American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators (AAMVA) must approve the helmet, a non-government organization that tests helmets to ensure they are good for daily use.
Only those helmets pass through their checklist that can protect the heads of the people who wear them. Before they are available to the general public, helmets are normally put through all sorts of crash tests.
From side impact to front and rear, the AAMVA first confirms if the helmet is efficient at its job. Buying one that is certified means you will be getting the best in class safety.
You can remain safe and ride with the assurance that you will walk away from serious accidents with recoverable injuries. You might be wondering what the difference is between the AAMVA and DOT.
Well, it comes under the US Department of Transportation. So, this means that the helmet is, in other terms, DOT approved. You should look for DOT sign on one, and you will be good to go.
The state of Mississippi is not messing around regarding the importance of wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle. If caught without one, you’ll be fined $100 and spend up to 10 days in jail.
The good news? A high-quality helmet can be found at a similar cost to these penalties, so why not wear one? You will be safe, and you will not have to waste any time with the authorities.
Make sure you buy one approved for use in this state, or you are back to round zero. You can still get in trouble, and the fine will be the same as not wearing a helmet.
Once again, you need to ensure that the AAMVA approves the helmet. This is mentioned on the helmet’s box and the company’s website.
So, double checking before buying is the best way to go about it. You will be at no risk of paying the $100 fine and be safe at all times, with a 69% lesser chance of a serious injury.
Mississippi’s Unique Laws For Motorcycle Accidents
If you’re a motorcyclist in Mississippi, you’re probably aware of the unique laws that regulate how you can be compensated for an accident.
Mississippi is an “at-fault” state, meaning its laws determine how much compensation you’ll receive based on your actions during the accident.
Generally speaking, the more at fault your actions were, the less compensation you’ll receive. However, this isn’t always the case: It all comes down to a jury’s decision after trial.
If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle accident, you can take steps to ensure that you receive appropriate compensation for your injuries and damages. First and foremost, filing suit within three years of the accident is important.
You should also seek legal counsel as soon as possible after filing suit, as this will allow them plenty of time to prepare their trial strategy and gather the evidence before court proceedings begin.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Mississippi
Motorcycle accidents are frightening and can be very serious. When you’re injured in a motorcycle accident, it’s important to know that you have the right to compensation for your injuries and other damages.
If you’ve been hurt in a motorcycle accident, get in touch with experienced motorcycle injury attorneys as soon as possible.
Here are the best ones in the state of Mississippi.
1. Richard Schwartz & Associates
When you’re injured in a motorcycle accident, you need an experienced and skilled attorney on your side. Every single one at this firm matches that description.
Richard Schwartz & Associates has been representing motorcycle accident victims for over 40 years, and they have an excellent rating on Google. They offer free case reviews and will meet you to discuss your case in person.
Moreover, they have a high rate of success, which means there is a high likelihood that you will get the compensation you deserve, so you can get back to full health as soon as possible. You should contact them for better guidance.
Phone Number: 601-800-5339
2. Law Tigers Motorcycle Injury Lawyers
If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle accident, it’s important to know that you don’t have to fight the insurance companies alone.
At Law Tigers Motorcycle Injury Lawyers, they have been helping people do just that for more than 30 years.
They have recovered more than $800 million in claims for their clients and will never charge you until they win your case. This makes working for them risk-free.
Law Tigers also offers a free case evaluation. So, you should keep them in mind in case you have been in an accident, and there is a risk of serious medical debt.
Phone Number: 1-888-863-7216
3. Morris Bart LTD
Morris Bart is one of the highest-rated firms on this list because they have been helping Mississippians for many years with motorcycle injury cases.
They know how to deal with insurance companies and ensure their clients receive maximum compensation for their injuries.
Moreover, they also offer free consultations so you can talk through your case before deciding whether or not you want the help they provide.
Phone Number: (228) 207-5266
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Mississippi?
Yes, but there are a few things to consider. First, you’ll want to make sure the open-face helmet is AAMVA-approved.
This means it has passed certain safety tests and is certified by the Department of Transportation. You can find this information on the box or hangtag on the inside of the helmet itself.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmets In Mississippi?
Not wearing your motorcycle helmet in Mississippi can result in a fine of up to $100, or you could be sentenced to up to 10 days in jail.
It’s always better to wear a helmet, so if you’re planning on riding without one, make sure you know what the consequences are.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In Mississippi?
After some research I was able to find that Mississippi applied their universal helmet laws in 1974 to prevent the motorcycle accidents and save the riders.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Mississippi?
Yes, passengers should wear a helmet in Mississippi. There are many reasons for this. First, it’s the law. Second, it’s just safer.
And third—well, you can’t really argue with logic like that, can you? So, if you have a passenger with you, you should make sure to convince them to wear a helmet.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Mississippi?
Yes, moped drivers are required to wear helmets in Mississippi. The same laws apply to mopeds as they do to motorcycles. The state of Mississippi has clearly stated all of this. You can be issued the same fines too. So, don’t risk it.
Finally, if you are trying to find out “Do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Mississippi?” then the answer is a resounding yes.
Mississippi is one of the few states that do require all motorcycle riders to wear helmets. This is called a universal law and has been around for many decades.
No changes have been made, and frankly, I think it is great just the way it is. Riders and passengers of all age groups should remain as safe as possible, and this law allows the state to achieve that.
I hope this article clarified any confusion that you may have had. So, don’t wait any further! Buy a helmet now, so you can safely enjoy your rides and avoid getting into trouble with the authorities.