Research for helmets began back in 1935 after a very high-profile death. The result of this research was the creation of the motorcycle helmet. This would prove to be a very safe and life-saving piece of equipment.
Despite this fact, many people prefer not to wear a motorcycle helmet in New Jersey. These people often ask, “Do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in New Jersey?”
The answer is enough to disappoint as all riders must wear a helmet. This includes passengers and is not set on any specific age, making it a rule every motorcyclist must follow.
There are several other rules in the state of New Jersey regarding motorcycle helmet laws, which is why I will explain them in more detail. You should read them all carefully to get the most understanding of the law.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In New Jersey
Everyone is required to wear a motorcycle helmet in New Jersey. This is a universal rule regarding motorcycles, and everyone driving one must wear one. There are no rules on age or passengers.
If you are traveling on a motorcycle, then you are required by state law to wear a motorcycle helmet or risk trouble with law enforcement.
Many states have certain exceptions that they are willing to make when it comes to their laws. Unfortunately, the state of New Jersey is now one of them.
Not only do they enforce their motorcycle helmet rule on everyone, but they also provide no exceptions. So no matter who you are, you need to wear a helmet.
Furthermore, many people take issue with the fact that even mopeds fall under motorcycle helmet laws. As a moped driver or a passenger, you need to wear a helmet, or else you will be breaking the law.
If it was not obvious already, it should be now that the state of New Jersey is very strict regarding helmet laws. You would think that would be reflected in its penalties, but luckily that is not the case.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In NJ
While you may now understand New Jersey’s stance regarding helmet laws, you will also need to know the helmet requirements.
All motorcycle riders must wear a helmet with approved specifications from the director of Motor Vehicles of New Jersey.
These helmets must include a neck or chin strap and reflectors on both sides. Moreover, these helmets should also provide eye protection.
If the helmet cannot provide eye protection, then it is the rider’s job to apply any sort of eye protection. This includes glasses and goggles, but the helmet’s visor is the easiest way to do so.
The laws give no quarter and make sure everyone is beneath them. This gives the impression that the fines and penalties for not wearing a helmet could be grave.
This is not the case, and New Jersey has a rather small fine for people who break helmet laws. If you are caught driving your motorcycle without a helmet, you will be liable for a fine.
This fine is set at a relatively small price of $25. This is a slap on the wrist compared to the fines of other states, which can easily cross $200.
There are no other major legal issues that you have to worry about. Most matters should end with a fine unless there has been an accident, in which case you can press legal charges or have them pressed against you.
In this case, you will want capable lawyers on your side. You will also want to be wearing a helmet as the opposition can call for negligence because you are not wearing a helmet.
This can reduce your chances of winning and any potential capital you may be entitled to from your insurance, as they can also claim negligence.
Helmet Law Suspension Back In 2001
With the state following its rules to a letter, you would think these rules have been here since they were first introduced. You will be surprised to hear that in the year 2001, the helmet laws were suspended.
Monmouth County Superior Court had a very special case going on. Buist/Mackey vs. the state of New Jersey was being fought, resulting in the suspension of helmet laws.
It argued that the helmet laws set by the state of New Jersey were unenforceable and suspended the enforcement of all motorcycle helmet laws.
This was pending the adoption of federal specifications. Until that time, motorcycle riders were allowed to not wear helmets. The attorney who made this possible was Jerry Friedman.
This would not end, as many people wanted the law to stay suspended indefinitely. This was shown in the Freedom Ride, which took place in September of 2003.
The objective of this ride was to promote awareness of Freedom of Choice for riders in multiple states, including New Jersey.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In New Jersey
Accidents can happen quickly and unexpectedly. You should always have a personal injury lawyer at your corner in case one happens so that you can get proper legal representation.
Here are a few of the best lawyers in New Jersey who provide this service.
1. Lynch Law Firm
The capable attorneys at the Lynch Law firm have decades of experience when it comes to motorcycle accident cases.
They are committed to fighting for your best interests. This is seen with their no return, no fee policy, and their free initial consultation fee.
Phone Number: (800) 518-0508
2. The Epstein Law Firm, P.A.
This law firm is full of talented individuals that are always hard at work. They aim to provide you with the best legal representation regarding motorcycle accidents.
They have adequate experience fighting big insurance companies and firms, which will aid your case.
Phone Number: 201-231-7847
3. Brandon J. Broderick, Personal Injury Attorney At Law
If you have suffered a motorcycle accident, you will want to work with the lawyers at this law firm.
Not only will they ensure that your injury is treated, but they will also work with investigators. This will help in finding the correct culprit and ensuring that you get speedy justice.
Phone Number: (877) 858-2718
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In New Jersey?
Your helmet must have specifications that have been approved by the state of New Jersey. As long as your open-face helmet adheres to these rules, you should be good to wear it.
The state also calls for eye protection when the helmet is not capable of doing so, which is why it is safe to say that they are allowed.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In New Jersey?
The fine for not wear wearing a helmet in the state of New Jersey is a fixed fine set at $25. You will be forced to pay this fine if you are apprehended by police while not wearing a helmet while driving.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In New Jersey?
It is safe to safe to say that the state of New Jersey Adopted the motorcycle helmet laws back in 1966 when they were first enacted.
Since then, the laws have been changed and updated accordingly. Some years, as mentioned above, in 2001, the laws were suspended. For the most part, they have stayed fixed and forced people to wear helmets.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In New Jersey?
It is a state law that any person that is traveling in New Jersey on a motorcycle must wear a helmet. This includes passengers who are on a motorcycle.
Regardless of their age, they have to wear a motorcycle helmet when traveling on a motorcycle in New Jersey. Not doing so can easily result in you being pulled over and then fined.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In New Jersey?
Even moped drivers could not escape the helmet laws that have been set by the state of New Jersey. They too, are required to wear a motorcycle helmet.
This also applies to the passengers who are traveling on the moped. As is the case with motorcycles, failure to follow this law will result in you being fined by the police.
The motorcycle helmet laws exist to make sure that we are well protected and safe, especially in the event of an accident. This is the reason why helmet laws in the state of New Jersey are so strict.
If you are still at the point where you are asking, do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in New Jersey, then you should definitely re-read this article.
Wearing a helmet should be a basic instinct of a motorcycle driver. You should wear it even if it is not required by the state as one day it can save your life or at least reduce any damage delivered to your head.