Being a law-abiding citizen is extremely important to avoid penalties and jail time. Not only that, but when you neglect the rules of a state, you also put other riders around you in danger.
Maine has its fair share of motorcycle helmet rules and regulations, which are important to follow.
If you have recently achieved your motorcycle license or are new to Maine and your main mode of transportation is a motorcycle, then you must have wondered, “do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Maine”.
Long story short, anyone below 18 has to wear a helmet. This rule is also for those above the age of 18. So, no one is spared in this case.
There is a lot more to these rules and laws in Maine State. If you want to know more about the Maine State Legislature regarding the helmet rules while riding motorcycles, then continue reading this article.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Maine
The law in Maine is quite similar to that in other US states, such as Florida. It tells all the riders to wear protective gear as they take the security of their citizens quite seriously.
At 16, you can apply for a learner’s license and learn how to drive your motorcycle. The person guiding you must also wear protective gear.
The chances of you making errors and putting your life and of those around you in great danger as you lack experience.
This is important if you want to apply for a driving license at 18. If you were caught not wearing a helmet at 16 when only your learner’s license was issued, you might not get your driver’s license at 18.
If you think that you will be exempted from wearing a helmet only because you are older than 18 years of age, then you are surely mistaken. No one is allowed to ride their motorcycles without wearing protective gear at any cost.
Not only this, but you also have to ensure you protect your eyes with eye protection gear. This is very important if you are learning how to drive a motorcycle. Keeping yourself becomes a lot more important because you lack experience.
There are no exceptions for those living in Maine. Every age group must abide by this law, or they would face serious consequences.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In ME
There might times when despite wearing a helmet in Maine, you will be pulled over by the police officers. In this case, you did abide by the law of wearing a helmet but did not fulfill the helmet requirements in Maine.
Talking about these requirements now, the helmet must fit your head. It should not be too big or too small. It should not be too tight or too small for you.
A 16-year-old cannot wear the helmets for older people if it does not fit them properly.
The buckle must be closed at all times because if it is not fastened, it would suggest that your helmet is loose and come off at any point. The NHTSA approves the requirements of all helmets.
The helmet should not be heavier than 3 pounds. It is best to have at least a 1-inch-thick lining of foam inside the helmet. At the end of the day, if DOT approves your helmet, it is best for you.
No police officer can stop you if they can see a DOT tag on the back of your helmet. Also, for your eye protection, you can wear any sort of glasses that do not risk breaking in the case of an accident.
If you breach any of the rules and regulations in any state in the US, you will have to face penalties and legal consequences.
This can be imposed on you if you are not wearing a helmet in Maine and if they do not meet the standards or requirements explained above.
In the case of penalties, regardless of age, you can be charged any amount below $500 but not less than $100.
This might not seem like a big offense for most people, but Maine takes the lives of its people quite seriously.
So, they have to create negative demand for penalties and legal consequences and ensure people avoid these at any cost. You might also get a traffic infraction.
As far as legal consequences are concerned, these can be taken against you if you have been seen violating the motorcycle helmet rules in Maine more than once.
You will be categorized under Class E crimes. If you undergo this particular issue, it will be embellished on all your records.
Insurance Requirements Of Motorcyclists In Maine
If you are someone who commutes using a motorcycle in Maine, you need to wear all the protective gear.
However, what is more important is that you insure yourself. There are different categories of insurance for motorcyclists in Maine.
You can get insurance for yourself in the case of injury and death by having a minimum amount of $50,000 as your medical insurance.
You can get insurance for your life and that of your family members by having $100,000 as your medical insurance.
After you have these amounts in your medical insurance account, you have nothing to worry about.
You need to take care of what happens to the people around you. It is your duty as a law-abiding citizen to follow these rules.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Maine
Wrongful death, negligence, damage to someone’s property, etc., are just a few of the things that can make someone drag you to court.
It can be quite difficult to tackle a situation in which you have experienced an accident and are not the only one hurt. This is where the law firms come in. Keep reading to discover the best attorneys in Maine.
1. Mann Law
If you want to contact attorneys that have always faced success in the past two decades and have the highest rating in Maine, then you must contact Mann Law.
They are known for achieving results at all costs when it comes to motorcycle accidents. Moreover, they have a lot of branches in other states of the US.
Phone Number: +1 207-709-0900
2. Peter Thompsons And Associates
If you want to affiliate yourselves with those attorneys that have proof to back up their success throughout the years, then Peter Thompsons and Associates are your go-to guys.
They also received the Super Lawyers award in 2022 and the Best Lawyers award in America in 2022. So, you can easily rely on them for your motorcycle accident case.
Phone Number: +1 800-804-2004
3. Fales & Fales
Throughout the last century, Fales & Fales has been outperforming its competitors by providing the maximum settlement for its customers.
They ensure they leave their clients utterly satisfied at the end of the day. They have had a lot of experience in personal injury cases like motorcycle accidents.
Phone Number: +1 888-526-9408
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Maine?
It is okay to wear an open-face helmet in almost all US states as long as the eyes of the motorcycle rider are protected.
It must be noted that open-face helmet rules have not been specified, but as long as all those areas of your face prone to injury are covered, you are good to go.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In Maine?
Anyone who does not wear a motorcycle helmet in Maine has to face the consequences of different penalties.
You will be charged any amount higher than $100 or less than $500. Hardly anyone gets an exemption from this if it is the first time the police have caught them.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In Maine?
The motorcycle helmet law of everyone wearing a helmet in Maine was released in 1891. Before that, only those under 18 had to wear protective gear.
Even before that, no one had to wear a motorcycle helmet in Maine. With time, the state became more serious as many accidents were reported.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Maine?
In Maine, the passengers must wear helmets. All operators and passengers must wear helmets at all costs for those under the age of 18.
There is no exception for anyone older than 18 years of age. There is no exception, even if you have a good amount in your medical insurance.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Maine?
Moped drivers also have to wear helmets while in Maine. This is true for both the one driving the moped and the ones riding it with that person. Even if the moped has three wheels, it is necessary to wear helmets.
Now you know exactly how important it is for you to wear a motorcycle helmet in Maine. If you ever have any questions revolving around, “do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Maine?” then you know the right answers.
Refrain from going against the laws that have been established and do not question these either. Make sure you avoid scammers of fake DOT helmets at all costs.
If you have read this article closely, you will not have to worry about anything, and you can enjoy your motorcycle ride easily.