Getting a motorcycle license is quite important for anyone who wants to ride a motorcycle in Oregon.
It makes sure that you have the necessary knowledge and skills to operate a motorcycle safely, and it also helps to protect others on the road.
Many residents of the state of Oregon ask: “How to get a motorcycle license in Oregon?”. The answer, in the simplest terms, is just like any other state for example, checking the eligibility, age limits and paying the fee. The process is not easy, and getting your license in this state can take time.
I’ll cover some important topics such as the requirements, fees, and testing procedures you will need to complete to obtain your license.
Ultimately, you will clearly understand the steps you need to take to legally ride a motorcycle in Oregon.
Motorcycle License Requirements In Oregon
To obtain a motorcycle license in Oregon, you must meet certain requirements. These requirements may vary depending on your age.
Let’s take a look at them!
Knowing Your Age
Like many other states, Oregon requires its residents to follow the rules according to age group. The process is roughly the same for the two but with one key difference. You can take a look for yourself.
Age Under 18
If you are under 18 and a minor, you must meet three main requirements. First, you need to be at least 16 years old. This is the minimum required age for applying for a license in the state.
Second of all, you should have a valid driver’s license. The state grants those to people younger than the age of 18 too.
Finally, the main thing minors should do is have full consent from their parents or guardians. If not, they will have to get one or wait until they reach 18.
Age 18 Above
If the applicant is older than 18, they need to follow the same requirement criteria, apart from getting consent from their guardians.
This is because the state considers them adults, which gives them the right to make their own decisions. This includes opting to get a motorcycle license.
Apart from that, the applicant should have a driver’s license. If he has an out-of-state license, that will be forfeited when applying for a newer one in Oregon.
The process of getting the license is the same for both age groups. I’ll discuss the process in detail below.
Types Of Motorcycle Licenses
In Oregon, there are three types of motorcycle licenses: moped, motorcycle, and three-wheeled motorcycle. All three are completely different, so there are different laws for them.
The state classified a vehicle as a moped if it cannot exceed 30mph. If you are wondering, autocycles fall into this category too.
In Oregon, you can operate a moped with any class of driver’s license. However, you are required to have a valid driver’s license. No motorcycle license and testing is necessary.
We all know and love the second type: a good old-fashioned, two-wheeler motorcycle. It has a dedicated license and allows you to drive any two-wheeled vehicle.
It requires a driver’s license and also requires the applicants to give and pass the knowledge and skills tests.
3. Three-Wheeled Motorcycle
The final license, which is completely different, is one for three-wheeled motorcycles. It has been designed for vehicles that have three wheels.
When it comes to testing, the state only requires applicants to clear the knowledge test. There is no skills test, possibly because there is no set bar for a three-wheeled motorcycle.
How To Apply For Your Oregon Motorcycle License
Getting a motorcycle license for driving in Oregon requires many steps, and these will be discussed in detail in this article.
Step 1: Get A Driver’s License
The first step to getting a license is to get a license. This may sound counterintuitive, but many states carry out this practice.
The process of getting a driver’s license in Oregon is as follows:
- Complete and submit the online application.
- Make an appointment at a DMV office.
- Bring all necessary documents, such as proof of residency and your identity.
- Pass the vision and knowledge tests.
- Once cleared, you can apply for the driving test.
- Once passed, you need to clear all dues.
- Finally, you need to get your picture taken for the license.
You will follow a different procedure if you are under 18 years old:
- You should have an instruction permit for six months.
- You need to have 100 hours of supervised driving experience.
If these requirements are met, you can take the driving test. Other than that, the procedure for getting a license is the same.
Step 2: Testing For Your Motorcycle License
To obtain a motorcycle license, you will need to pass a written test and a skills test. You cannot come for them unprepared, as they have been designed to test your skills mentally and physically.
Let’s take a look at what to expect when giving these tests!
1. Motorcycle Knowledge Test
The motorcycle written test covers topics such as traffic laws, road signs, and safe riding practices. You will need to answer multiple-choice questions based on information from the Oregon Motorcycle & Moped Manual.
The test itself has 25 questions. You need to answer 20 correctly, which translates to 80%. Make sure you study a lot. No helping material is allowed. The test costs $5 every time you take it.
2. Motorcycle Road Test
The skills test is something that is not conducted by the DMV but instead is done by Team Oregon.
According to their website, you will be put through different scenarios to test your five skills. To pass this test, you need to pass with at least 60%. That’s a pretty low bar and should be easy for most people.
Step 3: Pay Required Fees
Regarding fees, Oregon is one of the more expensive states. For a permit, you need to pay $23. It needs to be kept for six months at least and is valid for one year.
When it comes to the license, the application will cost $144. That is pretty steep, but this is what you have to pay.
Step 4: Wait For Your License
After applying for your motorcycle license and completing all of the necessary tests and paperwork, you will need to wait for your license to be processed.
It typically takes about 20 days to receive your license in the mail. If you have not received your license after 20 days, you can check the status of your application online on the DMV2U website.
Ways To Get a Motorcycle Endorsement In OR
You don’t have to do things that are too different from getting a license in Oregon when applying for an endorsement.
Let’s summarize things, so you can know the process!
Step 1: Provision Of Documents
As is the first case with the test, you must possess a driver’s license and a residency in the state. You need to bring the license and proof of your residency to the DMV office. Once that is verified, you can move on to the next step.
Step 2: Pass A Motorcycle Knowledge Test
The next step is to pass the knowledge test. This is the same as the one that license applicants have to give. Make sure you study hard for it. It contains 25 questions, and you need to answer 80% correctly.
Step 3: Team Oregon Course
The final step is to complete the basic or intermediate course that Team Oregon provides. This includes the skills test too, and is one of the final steps before you can obtain your endorsement.
Step 4: Wait For Your License
Finally, all you need to do is wait for 20 days. This is the timeline at which the license will be mailed to you. You will be given a temporary license valid for that waiting period.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1: How Long Will It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In Oregon?
The state recommends waiting at least 20 days before contacting the DMV or checking the DMV2U application.
This implies that the new license can take up to three weeks to ship out to you. You will be issued an interim card during that period, so getting to your destination won’t be too much of an issue.
Q2: How Much Will It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In Oregon?
The fee may change depending on whether you want an endorsement or a license. For the latter, it is $144. This must be paid when you don’t have a driver’s license.
For an endorsement, you will have to pay $87. The permit fee is $23, and the knowledge test costs $5. You must pay the $229 tuition fee for the Team Oregon rider course.
Q3: Should I Have A License To Ride A Motorcycle In Oregon?
Yes, it is a legal requirement to have a motorcycle license to ride a motorcycle on public roads in Oregon.
Without a valid motorcycle license, you could face fines, points on your driving record, and other penalties. You should not risk it or even think of riding without a license in the state.
Congratulations on taking the first step toward your motorcycle license. Whether you’re a seasoned rider or just starting, getting a motorcycle license is an exciting and rewarding experience.
With a motorcycle license, you’ll be able to explore Oregon’s beautiful roads and landscapes. Moreover, you’ll experience the freedom and thrill of motorcycle riding.
So, grab your helmet and sense of adventure, and get ready to hit the road! I hope your question about how to get a motorcycle license in Oregon was answered and understood.
I am a passionate blogger who wants to spread my interest in motorcycles. Fueled by my love for motorcycles, I provide readers with valuable insights and updates on motorcycles’ informative and engaging topics and document the latest happenings in the biking community. Despite my hectic schedule, I can provide these blogs, which involve regular trips to the gym and sports like mountain biking and BMX. I am usually available most of the time, so be sure to join me on my journey of motorcycles and bikes! I appreciate a quiet and simple life and am always eager to interact with my readers to provide helpful information on my blog site.