Riding a motorcycle is a fun and exciting way to get around, but it’s important to ensure you have the proper training and licensing before hitting the road.
A motorcycle license not only helps ensure your safety and that of the others around you, but it’s also required by law in most states.
You’ll need a motorcycle license if you live in Oklahoma and want to ride a motorcycle. As for the question of how to get a motorcycle license in Oklahoma, the answer is not short.
In general, you’ll need to pass a written test and a road test to get your motorcycle license and that is after you get a permit.
In this article, I’ll walk you through getting one. It will cover everything you need to know, so you can get your license as quickly as possible.
Motorcycle License Requirements In Oklahoma
Getting a license in the state means that you need to have to meet the conditions that the state has set. This is nothing to worry about, albeit something that you need to have prior information about.
Knowing Your Age
You’ll need to meet certain requirements depending on your age. Let’s take a closer look at what you’ll need to do according to your age group.
Age Under 16
If you are under 16, you need to be at least 14 years of age to get a state permit. This is a pretty young age and the first state I have seen that grants motorcycle permits so early.
People who fall into this category need to take a few extra steps, compared to adults, to get their motorcycle license.
The state requires that the person have all the important documents, such as proof of residency and proof of identity.
They should also have completed a basic rider’s course approved by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. This is not optional.
The learner permit will allow you to operate a motorcycle under the guidance of an authorized adult who is at least 21 years old.
The applicant will also be accompanied by a parent or someone responsible for you. There is also a limit to the timing, from 4:30 am to 9:00 pm.
Age 16 Above
If you are 16 or older, the requirements are not the same, which is why I mention them separately. Just like people in the previous age group, documents that establish that you are a state resident are required.
If you are under 18, you should be accompanied by your parent or guardian, as you are still not classified as an adult.
Types Of Motorcycle Licenses
In Oklahoma, there is only one type of motorcycle license: the M-class license. This license covers all motorcycles and motor-driven cycles. If you want to ride any motorcycle in Oklahoma, you’ll need an M-class license.
To get an M-class license, you’ll need to meet the Oklahoma motorcycle licensing requirements, which may vary depending on your age.
You’ll also need to pass written and road tests to demonstrate your knowledge of the rules of the road and your riding skills. Once you have an M-class license, you’ll be able to legally ride any type of motorcycle in Oklahoma.
There are no multiple classes or variations of this license, so you don’t have to worry about getting privileges of driving one type while losing legal hold over the other.
Plus, applying for multiple licenses or endorsements can cost a lot. So, a single license in Oklahoma is a big pro.
How To Apply For Your Oklahoma Motorcycle License
The process of finally acquiring the license might be of your interest. This section will describe the steps, so you can get one.
Step 1: Get A Permit
The first step to getting a motorcycle license is to get a permit. To get a permit, you’ll need to meet the requirements.
These requirements have been discussed in detail in the previous section. Make sure to read through it before continuing.
The permit should be with you for a minimum of 30 days. After this period, you can move on to getting a license.
You must take a knowledge and vision test when applying for a permit. The details of both will be discussed below.
Step 2: Testing For Your Motorcycle License
Once you get your permit, you’ll be ready to take the next step in getting your motorcycle license which is testing. You’ll need to pass both written and road tests to get your motorcycle license.
1. Motorcycle Knowledge And Vision Test
The written test is designed to assess if you are familiar with all the rules and regulations of the state, as well as the correct decisions that must be made when you are riding.
- The test consists of 25 questions; you’ll need to answer at least 20 correctly to pass.
- You can study for the written test using the Oklahoma Motorcycle Manual, which includes sample questions to help you prepare.
- Although it may not be difficult, preparing for the written part is still better, so you don’t have any issues.
- You will also have to give a vision test, which allows the state to determine if your eyes are sharp enough to catch details when moving on the road.
- If your sight is good, then there is no chance of you not passing this test.
2. Motorcycle Skills Test
It’s time to put your skills to the test! The motorcycle skills test is your chance to show off your riding abilities and earn your motorcycle license in Oklahoma.
If you haven’t already completed an approved Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) course (which allows you to skip the skills test altogether), you’ll need to take the skills test to get your license.
During the test, you’ll need to demonstrate your ability to safely operate your motorcycle in various conditions, like starting, stopping, turning, and shifting gears.
Remember to stay calm and follow all traffic laws, and you’ll pass with flying colors.
Step 3: Paying Required Fees
Here’s a breakdown of the costs you can expect to pay at the Oklahoma DPS:
- Motorcycle learner’s permit: $4.
- The license fee is: 38.50.
- If you take a retest, then $4 will need to be paid every time.
Step 4: Wait For Your License
Once you have passed all the required tests, you must wait for your license to arrive. You should get your license within 30 days.
Until then, you can polish up your skills, so when your license does arrive, you will be as ready as ever! You will be provided with a restricted license.
Ways To Get A Motorcycle Endorsement In OK
If you already have a driver’s license in Oklahoma but want to add a motorcycle endorsement, there are a few steps you’ll need to follow.
Here’s a step-by-step guide to getting a motorcycle endorsement in Oklahoma. The process is pretty comparable to getting a license.
Step 1: Provision Of Documents
The first step to getting a motorcycle endorsement in Oklahoma is to provide the necessary documents to the Driver’s License Examiner at the Oklahoma DPS.
You’ll need to bring both primary and secondary documentary proof of your identity, your full legal name and birth date, and your legal presence in the United States.
If you are under 18, you’ll also need a parent or legal guardian present. Moreover, if you have changed names, you must bring documents connecting your new names. This is a strict requirement set by the state that all people must follow.
Step 2: Pass A Motorcycle Knowledge Test
The details of the knowledge test were mentioned above, and it contains multiple choice questions. You must pass answer 80% of the questions correctly to continue.
Step 3: Take A Safety Course
A safety course, set by the state, will take around two days to finish. If you do and receive a certificate, you can skip the skills test.
It is recommended to do this because the MSF course will provide you with a lot of information that can potentially be used on the road.
Step 4: Wait For The Endorsement
As the state will take your driver’s license, you will be issued a temporary one. Although you can drive a car without any issue, you will be restricted when it comes to a motorcycle.
The conditions are the same as a permit. This may not be ideal for many, but it is how Oklahoma is.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1: How Long Will It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In Oklahoma?
It will take about 30 days to get your license. After you have passed the necessary tests and collected the required documents, you’ll be issued a temporary, restricted license. After 30 days, you can ride as you please, under the law, of course.
Q2: How Much Will It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In Oklahoma?
A motorcycle learner’s permit costs $4, a motorcycle endorsement cost is $4, and finally a motorcycle license will cost you $38.50.
However, these fees are subject to change, and you may incur additional costs if you need to take a motorcycle safety course or if you need to retake a test. The cost of retaking an exam is $4.
Q3: Should I Have A License To Ride A Motorcycle In Oklahoma?
Yes, you should have a license to ride a motorcycle in Oklahoma. It is required by law, and you could face a fine of up to $300 if caught riding without a license.
If you are caught multiple times, you could also be imprisoned. To avoid these consequences, it’s important to make sure you have a valid motorcycle license before hitting the road.
If you followed the information provided in this article, you should now understand how to get a motorcycle license in Oklahoma.
Whether you’re under 16 or over 16, the process is slightly different, but the result is the same which is the freedom and enjoyment of hitting the open road on a motorcycle.
So, stop wondering and go ahead and start your engines – your motorcycle license is within reach! Make sure to prepare for everything, so you don’t have to spend extra time to get a license.
I am a passionate blogger who wants to spread my interest in motorcycles. Fueled by my love for motorcycles, I provide readers with valuable insights and updates on motorcycles’ informative and engaging topics and document the latest happenings in the biking community. Despite my hectic schedule, I can provide these blogs, which involve regular trips to the gym and sports like mountain biking and BMX. I am usually available most of the time, so be sure to join me on my journey of motorcycles and bikes! I appreciate a quiet and simple life and am always eager to interact with my readers to provide helpful information on my blog site.