States in the US either have partial helmet laws or universal helmet laws.
For states with partial helmet laws, it is only compulsory for people under eighteen and other specified individuals to wear helmets, whereas adults are not required to do so.
In states with universal helmet laws, all citizens are required to wear motorcycle helmets regardless of age.
Many citizens often ask, ‘Do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Connecticut?’. The motorcycle helmet law in Connecticut is partial.
Only drivers and passengers under eighteen and people driving the motorcycle with a learner’s permit are required to wear a helmet when driving a motorcycle.
In addition, the helmet worn must meet federal standards.
Apart from the specific motorcycle helmet law, other things have to be considered when driving a motorcycle, buying the right helmet, or if, for example, you get into an accident.
To be more informed about the motorcycle helmet laws, continue reading this article.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Connecticut
You might find this interesting that the helmet laws are tend to differ from one state to another in the US.
In this particular state motorcyclists above the age of 18 are exempted from wearing helmets. Anyone who is less than 18 has to wear a helmet.
Along with that, anyone who is currently learning how to ride a motor cycle and has a permit for it needs to wear a helmet as well.
This is not confined to the drivers of motorcycles. The passengers have to wear these helmets as well.
The only thing common among all the states in the US when it comes to helmet laws is that they all have to abide by the DOT standards.
The manufacturer’s name and model design needs to be mentioned no matter what.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In CT
The helmet requirements in Connecticut are meeting the federal standards, i.e., being DOT approved. The DOT is the US Department of Transportation and has set minimum standards for a helmet to be approved.
For a manufacturer, after manufacturing a helmet, getting it to pass a series of rigorous testing by the DOT will determine whether the product meets the standards or not.
In Connecticut, the helmet must be labeled permanently with the manufacturer’s trademark or name and bear the DOT symbol on the outer surface in a contrasting color at least 3/8 inches high.
There must also be a suitable retention device that meets federal standards and be properly fastened to the helmet for as long as the motorcycle is driven.
In addition, it should also be of a size appropriate to the wearer’s head and must be properly fastened and not open. Failing to follow these rules will not count as wearing a helmet.
If you violate the laws or pre-established rules of a particular state, no matter how minor the issue is, you would be penalized for it.
If the consequences are major then third parties can take legal actions against you as well.
When it comes to penalties in case you are found riding a motorcycle in Connecticut without wearing a helmet, you would be given a ticket of $90. This is not a small amount. There are a few exemptions as well.
For example, if it is your first time being penalized by police offer for riding a motorcycle in Connecticut without wearing a helmet, you will be charged somewhere between $35 to $50.
Otherwise, you would have to pay the full amount of $90.
Now, considering that only the minors are charged or penalized for not wearing a helmet, if the consequences are major then they would have to face legal action.
However, the punishment for minor is juvenile jail time for 30 days or more.
The Federal government of these states has been strictly asked to keep an eye on these incidents because if damage to property takes place on their expense, they would be responsible of transferring the funds.
The Prior Helmet Law In Connecticut And Its Appeal
Until 1976, the helmet law in Connecticut required everyone riding a motorcycle to wear protective headgear, which would meet the standards adopted by the motorcycles commissioner and be according to the nationally accepted standards.
At that time, the law allowed the US Department of Transportation to pose financial sanctions against a state that failed to have a universal helmet law.
The universal helmet law was the national standard. These sanctions were to withhold 10% of the state’s annual federal allotment of funding for the construction of highways. The law in Connecticut became partial in 1989.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Connecticut
Getting into a motorcycle accident might result in it being challenging to get funding from an insurance company, and not winning your case might result in having to pay for expensive medical bills as well as for any loss or damages.
Therefore, it is recommended that you hire an experienced attorney for your case. Following are the best motorcycle accident attorneys in Connecticut, which you can refer to.
1. The Haymond Law Firm
This firm is for those individuals who only trust those attorneys that have a lot of experience to showcase in this field.
These attorneys specialize in fighting for the rights of those who have been injured during motorcycle accidents.
Moreover, they have a lot of cases which would prove their professionalism to you. They have been able to recover hefty amounts for their injured clients during motorcycle accidents.
Not only that, if any of this caused a wrongful death or severe injuries due to the negligence of other people then they are your go to attorneys.
They would offer free trials and you may discontinue your deal with them at any point.
Phone Number: 1-800-HAYMOND
2. L.A. LAW, LLC
This is another personal injury attorney company at your service. If you get into a motorcycle accident, contact them at (844) 438-5252 or speak with motorcycle accident attorney A. Twillie II or send an email.
You will get a dedicated and proven attorney hired. Consultation is free, and because they work on a contingency fee basis, you will not have to pay anything unless the attorney wins your case.
Phone Number: 860-595-3163
3. Gould Injury Lawyers
Gould Injury Law includes a team of experienced and dedicated lawyers who will take care of your motorcycle accident case and deliver quick and successful results.
They might sign your case on the phone or send you one of their experienced staff in person. Call them at 888-WIN-FAST to get a free consultation.
These lawyers have raised over $1,500,000 for motorcycle accident victims; therefore, you can trust them because of their experience.
The partner of Gould Injury Law, Robert Gould, has above twenty years of experience in personal injury negotiation. The firm works fast and aggressively and is known for being highly helpful to its clients.
Phone Number: 888-WIN-FAST
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Connecticut?
It is okay to wear open-faced helmets for adults driving on a proper license. However, as open-faced helmets do not provide significant protection, these are not considered proper protection.
Therefore, for drivers and passengers under the age of eighteen and those driving on a learner’s permit, wearing an open-faced helmet will not be legally considered as wearing one.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In Connecticut?
This tends to vary on the basis of whether or not it is your first time. If it is the first time you are being penalized then you would be charged somewhere between $30 to $50.
If you have been charged before then you would have to pay $90 or above. This also depends on whether or not you have your training permit with you.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In Connecticut?
Connecticut introduced its partial helmet law in 1989(PA 89-242, codified as CGS §§ 14-289g and -40a (b)).
The law requires all motorcycles and passengers under eighteen and those on a learner’s permit to be wearing a motorcycle helmet, regardless of age.
Bills of mandatory helmet law have also been introduced in 1979, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 2003, and 2005.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Connecticut?
Only passengers under the age of eighteen are required to wear a helmet. Adult passengers are not required to do so. However, for those underage, not doing so will result in being charged with an offense and a fine of $90.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Connecticut?
Regardless of whether the driver or passenger is driving a moped vehicle, only those drivers and passengers who are underage and those driving on a learner’s permit are required to wear a helmet.
Those adults driving a moped vehicle on a proper license are not legally required to wear helmets. However, it is recommended that they do so.
Wearing protective headgear will protect you from legal sanctions and keep you safe from any severe head or brain injuries or the possibility of death due to severe injury if you get into a motorcycle accident.
Motorcycle helmets have been proven to reduce the possibility of injuries to a great extent. It is important to wear one meeting the federal standards as well.
I hope you have found the answer to do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Connecticut and are now well informed about the helmet law in this state.