Does Colorado Have A Helmet Law For Motorcycles?

Beast Riders is reader-supported. This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Each state has its rules and regulations that it enforces on the population to provide safety and security to the people. These rules and regulations will see slight changes and adjustments in each state.

If you are reading this article, the main question on your mind should be, “do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Colorado” and the answer to this is fairly straightforward.

According to the rules set by the state of Colorado, motorcycle drivers and passengers that are below 18 are legally obligated to wear a helmet, while older motorcyclists can opt not to wear a helmet.

Regardless of your age, you are required to wear some sort of eye protection.

While this may be the brunt of the rules regarding the state of Colorado regarding motorcycles, there are a lot of other exceptions, intricacies, and other details you need to know, and I will be going over them all in the remainder of this article.

Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Colorado

If you are an aspiring young motorcyclist and are below the age of 18, you are required by the state to use a helmet.

Once you reach the age of 18, you can stop using helmets; however, I will recommend that you continue to wear one for your safety.

Despite being over the required age, the state of Colorado still forces all of its motorcyclists to wear any form of eye protection.

Forms of eye protection can be a part of the helmet itself, i.e., helmet visors but can also be separate equipment such as glasses, face shields, and goggles.

This opens the room for motorcyclists to wear half helmets if they so desire, but it also opens up a lot of risks.

Half helmets are generally not as protective as full helmets and risk more traumatic injuries in the event of an accident, so you should stick to full helmets for their increased safety and protection.

There are various other exceptions that you can use to get out of wearing a helmet.

The first of these is getting a motorcycle or a moped that can only go up to a maximum of 25 mph. A 3 wheeled motorcycle can also get you out of wearing a helmet.

Finally, if your motorcycle is equipped with a windshield, then this too makes you eligible to not wear a helmet.

Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In CO

The state of Colorado requires all motorcyclists that are below the age of 18 and their passengers to wear DOT-approved helmets only.

The NHTSA set this standard and focused on various aspects of the helmet. I will be covering these aspects later in the article.

For now, you should simply know if your helmet is DOT approved; if it is not, you should purchase one as soon as possible.

Along with this requirement, you should ensure that the helmet you are using is in tip-top shape and perfect for you as a user.

This means that the helmet should fit tightly on your head and account for your head’s distinct shape. This will bring you increased comfort, stability, and safety.

Penalties/Legal Consequences

Whether this is your first offense or not, if traffic police catch you riding your motorcycle under the age requirement without a helmet, you will be liable to pay a fine.

This fine can be as small as $15 but can go up to $100, so you should try to wear a helmet and proper eye protection when riding your motorcycle.

The state of Colorado has set its laws such that in the event of a legal case and you do not have a helmet, it will not have any bearing on the case if you are 18 years old or above.

However, this can be used against you in a court of law if you are below 18 years of age. Regardless of age, you will be liable for the consequences in court if you did not wear eye protection.

If any of these factors come into place, you can have your share of negligence increased.

DOT Helmet Standard As Per The State Of Colorado

The NHTSA has set this enforcement, which applies to the state of Colorado and many other states, forcing motorcyclists to wear helmets for on-road use that are certified.

This does not mean that you are only capable of wearing these helmets on roads and should also make a habit of wearing them when engaging in off-road activities.

This standard focuses on the energy absorption, impact attenuation, and penetration resistance of the helmet, along with the effectiveness of the retention system.

All of these factors need to be above a certain threshold, and the peripheral vision of the helmet should not be less than 105 degrees.

Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Colorado

If you or a loved one have been a victim in a motorcycle accident and are suffering from pain and medical bills, you should seek legal aid as soon as possible as you may be entitled to support that you can get through the legal system.

1. The Frickey Law Firm

Practicing attorneys that have more than 50 years of experience, the people at the Firckey Law Firm have received top recognition from various legal organizations.

Aand believe that everyone deserves access to ethical and good quality legal representation, which is exactly what they want to provide to all the men and women who are the victims of vehicular accidents.

Phone Number: +1 303-237-7373
URL: https://www.frickey.com/

2. Mintz Law Firm

If you are in search of compassionate lawyers that will safeguard all of your interests, then look no further than Mintz Law Firm, a firm that specializes in Personal Injury & Car Accident Lawyers.

The capable hands at this firm will work day and night to help you understand your rights and take you through the legal process, getting you justice.

Phone Number: +1 303-462-2999
URL: https://www.mintzlawfirm.com/

3. Springs Law Group

The people at Springs Law Group are always trying to give back to the community. They truly care for every one of their clients and take the time to explain everything happening, working tirelessly and continuously.

They have been recommended by most of their clients and are said to always have their client’s interests at heart which is why many are grateful to this company for helping them with their cases.

Phone Number: +1 719-249-6323
URL: https://springslawgroup.com/

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Colorado?

You are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet in the state of Colorado. If your open-face helmet is DOT-approved, it is perfectly okay to wear it.

Along with this, you will have to also wear some form of eye protection as it too is required by the state.

Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In Colorado?

If you are below the age requirements and are caught by local law enforcement not wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle, you are liable to a fine.

This fine starts at $15 and can go up to $100, depending on how often you have been caught doing this.

Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In Colorado?

Seeing the rising number of motorcycle-related accidents, Colorado decided to enact motorcycle helmet laws in 1992.

This was done in an attempt to reduce this rise in accidents. These laws would be adjusted over the years and become what I have discussed in this article.

Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Colorado?

Just like the motorcycle driver is required to wear a motorcycle helmet if they are riding a motorcycle, passengers below the age of 18 must wear a helmet.

Once they are 19 and above, they can stop wearing motorcycle helmets entirely but will require some form of eye protection.

Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Colorado?

Moped drivers also have to follow the same helmet rules as motorcycles. This means that they are also required to wear a helmet if they are below 18 years of age.

This can be circumvented if they are wearing seat belts and have a windshield on their moped. Additionally, this applies if the moped is a 3 wheeler and/ or does not reach more than 5 mph.

Conclusion

The short answer to “do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Colorado” is yes, you do, if you are below the age of 18.

If you are 18 years old or above, then you should have no worries as you will then not be required to wear a helmet. You will be required to wear eye protection at all times, regardless of your age.

This includes the visor of a helmet, so it can be much more effective to simply wear a helmet as you get the eye protection that the state asks of you and also get the added bonus of extra protection.