Motorcycle licenses are important because they ensure motorcyclists have the necessary skills, knowledge, and experience to ride safely.
Motorcycle licenses also allow the rider to enjoy the freedom of riding a motorcycle without worrying about being fined by the authorities.
One question that people ask a lot is how to get a motorcycle license in Colorado. The process is not entirely straightforward, but the gist is that you must pass a written exam, purchase a permit, and then give a skill test.
This might seem simple enough but believe me; it is not. There are a lot of steps in between which you would want to know.
You are lucky because this article will discuss all of those steps properly. By the end, you will be confident enough to perform all the steps without confusion. Even if you have questions, you can save this webpage for later access!
Motorcycle License Requirements In Colorado
I know your time is valuable. This is why I will be jumping right into it. This section will clear up all the requirements needed for getting a license in the state of Colorado.
Let’s get started!
Knowing Your Age
In Colorado, you must be at least 16 to obtain a motorcycle license. You will need to complete an approved Motorcycle Rider Education Program or hold your permit for at least twelve months before applying for your full license.
Age Under 18
If you’re under 18 and want to get your motorcycle license in Colorado, you’ll need to:
- Get a permit. You’ll need to be at least 16 years old to get a motorcycle permit in Colorado. You can apply for your motorcycle permit at any DMV location in the state.
- Take a written test. You’ll need to pass the DMV’s written test on motorcycle safety and operation to complete this process step.
- An examiner will give this test at the DMV office that handles your application.
- After you pass your written exam and get your permit, it’s good for 12 months. You should also have a signed affidavit of liability and guardianship.
- Plus, you must be accompanied by your instructor at all times during those 12 months.
- This is an important law, and breaking it can lead to a suspension of your license and get your guardians in serious trouble.
If you’re over 18 and want to get a motorcycle license in Colorado, there are several steps you’ll need to take:
- First, you’ll need to pass the motorcycle written test.
- The test consists of 25 questions and covers topics such as road signs and signals, safe riding techniques, and basic rules of the road. You need 21 correct answers to pass.
- Next, you’ll need to pass the motorcycle operator’s driving skill test. This takes place on an off-street course with a certified instructor at your side.
- You’ll be asked to demonstrate your ability to handle various situations that may arise while riding a motorcycle.
- Next up is the vision test. This test determines if your vision is good enough for motorcycle use.
After all of this is done, you can finally apply for a driver’s license. You will get it within a few weeks.
Types Of Motorcycle Licenses
Colorado has two different types of motorcycle licenses: the M license and the 3 license. It’s important to understand each one, so you can make the right choice for your needs.
Type 1: M License
The M License is the most common in Colorado and covers all types of motorcycles. The M license can be used for any motorcycle, from a scooter to a moped. It’s good to have this one if you’re unsure what kind of bike you want.
Type 2: 3 License
This license is for three-wheeled vehicles only. You can’t use this motorcycle license, but it’s still worth getting if you want to ride a scooter.
This license is rarely applied for by people since the M License includes permission to ride three-wheeled vehicles.
If you want to know which license suits you, it is undoubtedly the M License. Even if you are sure you will be using a three-wheeled motorcycle, there is no harm in preparing for the future!
How To Apply For Your Colorado Motorcycle License
This is the part all of you have been waiting for.
Here I’ll be taking a look at the exact steps which must be taken for a person to get a Colorado motorcycle license.
Follow them, and you can legally ride your motorcycle on the roads in no time.
Step 1: Get an Instruction Permit
You need to be at least 16 years old to apply for a motorcycle permit in Colorado. You’ll also need to pass a written test, skill test, vision test, and physical aptitude review and pay $14 in fees.
Once you get your instruction permit, you can start practicing with an instructor and take the road test when you feel ready—but only after one year has passed since obtaining your instruction permit!
If your guardian agrees to sign the Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship, they can accompany you while riding.
People above the age of 18 don’t need to wait 12 months. They can jump straight to the license fees and pay them after giving the same number of tests.
Step 2: Testing For Your Motorcycle License
Now you have the insurance permit, the next step is to get your license tests done.
Let me explain them below:
1. Motorcycle Written Test
The Colorado Motorcycle Written Test consists of 25 questions you must answer correctly to pass.
You do not have to answer all 25 questions, but you must answer at least 21 questions correctly. The test covers the signs and road knowledge you need to safely operate a motorcycle in Colorado.
2. Motorcycle Road Test
You will need to give a skill test before getting a license or a permit.
Motorcycle road tests, conducted by the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), are designed to ensure that all motorcyclists are capable enough to be on the road.
So, make sure your skills are great, as even a small mistake could lead to your license application being rejected.
Step 3: Submitting Your Paperwork
After you’ve passed all the tests and completed your course, you’ll need to submit paperwork to get your motorcycle license.
You will need:
- Proof that you have completed the Motorcycle Operator Safety Course.
- Completed application form.
- Valid forms of identification.
Step 4: Receiving The License
Congratulations! Your motorcycle license should arrive at the address you provided within a month, so check in with the local DMV office if it doesn’t.
That’s about it. These were the entire steps that can be followed to get a motorcycle license in Colorado.
Ways To Get A Motorcycle Endorsement In CO
There are a few more steps to follow to get your motorcycle license endorsed.
Let’s take a look!
Step 1: Submitting Information
You need a valid motorcycle license to apply for an endorsement. Getting the license is easy.
The steps have been given above but let’s take a quick look:
- Pass the written and skill tests.
- Get a permit.
- Then finally get the license.
Step 2: Visiting A DMV Office
You can skip directly to this step if you have a license. As an endorsement is a physical marking that states that the license has been endorsed, this is something that cannot be done over the phone.
You must visit a DMV office and get the endorsement done. Remember to get an appointment first.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. How Long Will It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In Colorado?
You should receive your motorcycle license within a month if you’ve completed all the steps correctly and provided the correct information.
It will be mailed to you at the address you provided. No need to collect it from a local DMV office! If it takes more than 30 days, you must call or visit a nearby office ASAP.
Q2. How Much Will It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In Colorado?
Getting a Colorado motorcycle permit is $16.80, the only fee you’ll pay if you already have a valid driver’s license.
If not, it’ll cost another $28 for a new license and $2 for the M endorsement.
That is not a lot, and after that, you will need to pay the fees only once when you need to renew it, in a few years.
Q3. Should I Have A License To Ride A Motorcycle In Colorado?
Both motorcyclists and passengers must have a valid motorcycle license, endorsement, or permit. You must have a valid instruction permit if you are under 18 years old.
If not, then serious legal action will be taken against you by the state. This is something no one wants. So, make sure you don’t break any laws and get a valid license as soon as possible.
Congratulations! You’ve made it to the end of my guide on how to get a motorcycle license in Colorado. Now, all you have to do is get out there and ride!
I hope this guide has cleared up any confusion and helped you feel confident about taking your first steps as a motorcyclist.
There’s no better time than now to get out there, so what are you waiting for? You can always return to this page and check any information you may have missed.
I hope you can get your motorcycle license as soon as possible. Happy riding!