Regardless of why people wear a motorcycle helmet, the fact remains that it is a crucial piece of gear that offers vast protection to you in the event of an accident which is why many different states have it required in some capacity, some more than others which is why it is integral we have a look at the rules in place in the state of Arkansas.
When talking about motorcycle helmets, the question often arises “do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Arkansas” and the answer is quite simple. It is the law that you must wear a helmet if you are under 21.
This is the main crux of the laws in Arkansas, but if you want more information regarding motorcycle helmet laws in Arkansas then read the article till the end for all the details.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Arkansas
While this was not always the case regarding motorcycle helmet laws, Arkansas decided to change the laws in place in 1967.
The law has since then changed to focus more on young motorcyclists in that only people below the age of 21 are legally required to wear a helmet.
People aged 21 and above are not required to wear a motorcycle helmet, and this applies to the passengers as well, meaning you will have to wear a helmet if you are below 21 years old.
Regardless of age, Arkansas has a strict policy of having the motorcyclist wear protective glasses, goggles, and face shields.
With this requirement, even though you may not be forced to wear a helmet, you will have to use some form of eye protection if you want to freely ride on your motorcycle without being troubled by local law enforcement.
If you are the owner of a motorcycle that cannot exceed 20 hp or has three wheels or a closed cabin with a windshield, you will not be required to use a helmet.
Furthermore, if you are a municipal police officer using a motorcycle, you will not be required to use a motorcycle helmet.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In AR
If you are wondering what the specific requirements of helmets are that you have to adhere to in the state of Arkansas, you will be glad to know that there are not a lot of requirements that you have to follow.
The main thing you have to deal with is that the helmet should be up to the state’s standards and be approved by the government.
The helmet should be comfortable because it fits perfectly on your head, providing maximum safety in an accident.
If you are unsure whether the helmet you own is up to the state’s standards, then you should look for marks and stickers made by organizations such as BSI & Global Mark, which usually adhere to the various standards required by the state.
As is the case for breaking every rule, if you are under 21 and caught not wearing a helmet or if your passenger is caught not wearing a helmet, you will have to face the full extent of the law.
You run this risk whenever you are riding your motorcycle without a helmet, which is why you should wear a helmet if you are below 21.
The penalties for breaking the helmet laws of the state of Arkansas are treated as a misdemeanor and carry a cash penalty of anywhere between $10 to $50.
You are also liable to a 30 prison sentence for not wearing a helmet.
Arkansas also follows the general modified comparative negligence rule, which will either provide you with monetary benefits for your injuries or hold you liable in a court of law.
This will penalize you for any recovery benefits you may have been otherwise entitled to.
Types Of Helmets You Should Wear
There is a wide variety of helmets that you can choose from when looking for motorcycle helmets.
While most motorcyclists will opt for full-face helmets, you can alternatively purchase half helmets, which provide less coverage but is still better than not wearing any helmet.
You should do this at your own risk as the lower amount of protection can increase the chance of suffering from greater injuries, particularly to the brain, so it is recommended you stick to a full-face helmet.
High visibility helmets should also be a priority. You should purchase helmets that allow you to clearly see what is in front of you and not smudge easily.
While you may be tempted to wear a helmet with a black tint, it can be a nightmare to see through it in the dark.
Staying on the topic of visibility, your helmet should also aid in helping you come in the sight of other drivers and pedestrians. Typically, this can be done by purchasing helmets that pop out with their color.
This means that you should wear a helmet with bright colors as opposed to black. This will also be of better help in helping you get detected at night. This can also be achieved with reflector strips.
You can attempt to purchase a helmet that comes with these reflector strips or look for the strips separately and apply them to the helmet that you already have.
This can do the job just as well and even save you some money.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Arkansas
If you were a victim of an accident, you may be entitled to financial support and should contact one of these top-rated attorneys in the state of Arkansas.
1. The Brad Hendricks Law Firm
Helping people throughout the state of Arkansas, the attorneys at the Brad Hendricks Law Firm have recovered well over $200 million for their customers and clients, making sure that the victims of street accidents are given the financial compensation they deserve.
Phone Number: (501) 214-0998
2. Denton & Zachary, PLLC
Attorneys at Denton & Zachary, PLLC are committed to helping all victims of street accidents obtain the compensation that they deserve, going above and beyond to make sure that you are compensated for your pain, suffering, and losses.
These experienced attorneys will guide you every step of the way and keep you updated on the status of your case.
Phone Number: +1 501-426-6096
3. Justin Minton Law
The people at Justin Minton Law specialize in providing fair and reasonable settlements on behalf of their clients, specializing in all cases related to personal injury and wrongful death claims.
It is an established law firm that has had major success in a variety of cases over the years, all related to traffic accidents.
Phone Number: +1 501-794-0001
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Arkansas?
According to the rules of the state of Arkansas, you are allowed to wear an open-face helmet, but you will also have to make sure that you are properly equipped with eye protection.
This may defeat the purpose of an open-face helmet, but eye protection is required by the state at all costs.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In Arkansas?
If the police officer that has pulled you over decided to give you a fine and it is your first offense, you can get a fine anywhere from $10 to $50, which is very lenient considering you can get up to 30 days of face jail time for this offense which is a very serious sentence that should not be taken lightly.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In Arkansas?
The state of Arkansas followed the universal helmet law back in 1967, but in August 1997, the state enacted its own laws which force people who are under the age of 21 to wear motorcycle helmets. Over time, it has seen various revisions but has stayed mostly the same since.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Arkansas?
If your passengers are below the age of 21, then they are legally required by the state of Arkansas to wear a helmet.
This rule will last until they reach the age of 21, beyond which they are free to not wear a helmet. They will, however, be required to have some form of eye protection.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Arkansas?
If your moped cannot exceed more than 20 hp and has 3 wheels, then you are not obligated to wear a helmet in the state of Arkansas.
That being said, if this is not the case, then you will definitely have to have a helmet equipped unless you want to deal with local law enforcement.
Do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Arkansas is a very common question, and hopefully, I have done a great job in letting you know of all the rules and requirements you need to follow in the state regarding motorcycle helmets.
Even though you are only required to wear a helmet until you are 21 in the state of Arkansas, a lot of experts still recommend that you wear a helmet with added eye protection whenever you can, as it is an essential tool that will save your life in the event of an accident and offers a lot of protection.
I am a passionate blogger who wants to spread my interest in motorcycles. Fueled by my love for motorcycles, I provide readers with valuable insights and updates on motorcycles’ informative and engaging topics and document the latest happenings in the biking community. Despite my hectic schedule, I can provide these blogs, which involve regular trips to the gym and sports like mountain biking and BMX. I am usually available most of the time, so be sure to join me on my journey of motorcycles and bikes! I appreciate a quiet and simple life and am always eager to interact with my readers to provide helpful information on my blog site.