Riding a motorcycle as safely as possible is always a good idea. This mindset should also translate to protecting yourself in the event of an accident. In this case, you should not go all out, as a helmet should be more than enough.
Most of the time, people have no idea about the rules of motorcycle helmets in their state. If you are among these people and currently asking, do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Rhode Island, I have the answer.
In Rhode Island, you should put on a helmet for the first year of your driver’s license production and if you are below 22.
Along with this, there are various other rules and details that you have to take care of. For this reason, I will be going more in-depth into the motorcycle helmet rules in Rhode Island.
It is advised that you read the article till the end to learn this information as well.
Motorcycle Helmet Laws And Rules In Rhode Island
The two main rules you will have to know when riding a motorcycle in Rhode Island are the following; you need to wear a helmet until you are above 21.
You must also wear a helmet when you first get your license for a year. This is regardless of your age. You could be well into your 30s, but you must wear a helmet for a year if your license was just made.
One thing to note is that passengers are not given this choice. They must wear a helmet at all times. If you follow these rules, you should not have any major issues with the police.
Alternatively, if you want to get away without wearing a helmet, here are a few legal ways. The state of Rhode Island has set up various cases for exceptions where people can avoid wearing helmets and be well within the law.
The first exception has been set for moto scooters. People who drive motor scooters are exempt from wearing a helmet.
The next are motorized bicycles and autocycles. A motorized bicycle needs to have 2 wheels & 2 pedals, less than 2 horsepower motor, and a maximum speed of 30 miles per hour.
Autocycles are vehicles with a steering wheel, three or fewer wheels, nonstraddle seats and two pedals. If your vehicle corresponds to any of these vehicles, you may not need to wear a helmet.
Motorcycle Helmet Requirements In RI
The state of Rhode Island has not elaborated on helmet requirements. Rhode Island does have eye protection laws that need to be followed.
Along with this, the helmet must be approved by Rhode Island’s Administration of Division of Motor Vehicles.
The specifics of this approval have not been mentioned, which is why you should get your helmet checked before driving your motorcycle.
It should be safe to say that if your helmet is DOT-Approved, you should have no issues with the state.
Eye protection laws should also be the same; you must ensure that your eyes are covered with durable and shatter-resistant materials.
They can be glasses, face shields, and even goggles. The best way to about this is through the visor of your helmet. This will eliminate the chances of open-face helmets, but it is much simpler in the long run.
Rhode Island has set a considerable fine for people breaking motorcycle helmet laws. This fine has been set at $85 and is a fixed price.
You will not be charged higher than $85; regardless of how often you are caught doing so. This fine is quite high, but not as much as other states.
It should be obvious that you cannot break the law and get away without any sort of repercussions.
Rhode Island is also what many would call a pure comparative negligence state. This means that you are partially responsible for the injuries you receive when in an accident.
Furthermore, this can reduce the sum of cash you were originally entitled to. The sum is based on the share of your negligence.
This is something that companies and prosecution will no doubt exploit if you are not wearing a helmet.
If you do not know how to deal with issues like this, look no further than the amazing attorneys I will discuss later in the article.
The First Year When Riding a Motorcycle In Rhode Island
One rule that I would like to elaborate on is the one regarding the license. If you have gotten your motorcycle driving license for the first time, you will need to wear a helmet for a year.
This is regardless of your age. I think this is a very good idea. It does not matter how old you are.
Since you have just gotten a license, you probably don’t have the experience. It is very probable in that case for you to get into an accident.
In cases like this, having a helmet can be a lifesaver. The first year should also help you get comfortable with wearing a helmet.
Since you will wear one from the start, you will develop a habit of wearing it. Once you see how much safety the helmet provides, you will not be able to stop wearing it.
This also helps clarify the people who are thinking of not wearing a helmet as now they can choose and experience both sides.
Get In Touch With Experienced Motorcycle Attorneys In Rhode Island
Negligence is just one of many tactics the prosecution will use against you to get your case tossed off.
Luckily, I have compiled a list of talented and capable attorneys that are prepared for every situation and will help you succeed.
1. The Bottaro Law Firm, LLC
Lawyers at the Bottaro Law Firm understand the effects of motorcycle accidents. This is why they are committed to providing quality legal advice to everyone who needs their help.
Phone Number: (401) 217-8261
2. Rob Levine & Associates Personal Injury Lawyers
With 16 years of professional experience in motorcycle accidents, you will get extremely capable lawyers if you choose the people at Rob Levine. These lawyers are available 24/7 and will come through in your time of need.
Phone Number: (800) 742-3920
3. Law Offices Of Ronald J. Resmini, Accident & Injury Lawyers, Ltd
With millions recovered from motorcycle accident victims, it is safe to say that these lawyers know what they are doing. Their policy to pay nothing until you win also appeals to many people.
Phone Number: +1 401-751-8855
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. Is It Ok To Wear An Open Face Helmet In Rhode Island?
Through basic helmet requirements and eye protection laws, we can infer that it should be legal for you to wear an open-face helmet.
The state of Rhode Island has not elaborated on open-face helmets. All you need to do is abide by the eye protection laws and have the helmet up to standards.
Q2. How Much Is The Fine For Not Wearing A Motorcycle Helmet In Rhode Island?
If you are unable to follow the helmet laws in the state of Rhode Island, you will be subject to a fine of $85.
This is a fixed price and is set regardless of how many times you are caught breaking the law. It is quite a substantial fine and one you should avoid.
Q3. When Did Motorcycle Helmet Become Law In Rhode Island?
Motorcycle helmet laws were passed back in 1968. They were repealed later in 1976 and slowly but surely became what they are today for Rhode Island.
The latest change was introduced back in 2018. In this change, they introduced a law that forced motorcycle passengers to wear helmets as well.
Q4. Should Passengers Wear A Helmet In Rhode Island?
As mentioned in the above answer, passengers are legally required to wear a helmet. This was passed in 2018 and, prior to this, was not allowed.
Even if it was not required, it is a good habit that passengers should develop. It offers much more safety than driving without one.
Q5. Are Moped Drivers Required To Wear A Helmet In Rhode Island?
Depending on the speed and classification of your moped, you may or may not be required to wear a helmet.
If your mopeds fit into the category where they are considered autocycles and motorized bicycles, then you do not need to wear a helmet. If they fall into the motorcycle category, then a helmet is a must.
Rhode Island has some great rules when it comes to motorcycle helmets and I hope you were able to get your answer to “Do you have to wear a motorcycle helmet in Rhode Island?”.
While the fines that accompany the rules are tough, the rules themselves are also quite fair. The age requirements are decent. The one-year period is also a very good idea.
Finally, there are a lot of exceptions as well that you can use to avoid wearing a helmet. Despite these exceptions, I will wholeheartedly recommend you wear a helmet as it can save your life in the event of an accident.
It can also save you from a fine in the event that one of your exceptions does pan out the way you thought it would.
I am a passionate blogger who wants to spread my interest in motorcycles. Fueled by my love for motorcycles, I provide readers with valuable insights and updates on motorcycles’ informative and engaging topics and document the latest happenings in the biking community. Despite my hectic schedule, I can provide these blogs, which involve regular trips to the gym and sports like mountain biking and BMX. I am usually available most of the time, so be sure to join me on my journey of motorcycles and bikes! I appreciate a quiet and simple life and am always eager to interact with my readers to provide helpful information on my blog site.