How To Get A Motorcycle License In New Mexico

Beast Riders is reader-supported. This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The state of New Mexico is firm in its laws regarding motorcycle licenses. This is why many people want to know more about getting a motorcycle license here.

Each state has its rules and regulations, which is why this is difficult to figure out. Despite the difficulty, this article will discuss how to get a motorcycle license in New Mexico.

The process is quite standard, with you first getting a driver’s license and then completing a safety course. You will have to ace some tests and then give some documents and fees to secure your license.

If you want any elaboration in any of these steps, be sure to stick around. I’ll talk about all these points in detail, making this a good opportunity for you to learn everything you need.

Motorcycle License Requirements In New Mexico

How should I get my bike license in New Mexico? Read my blog to find out

A lot goes into how you will achieve your license. The state of New Mexico has three different types of licenses.

I’ll explain all of them later in the article. For now, you should know that each of them has its requirements that you should be aware of.

Knowing Your Age

Your age plays a crucial role in the state of New Mexico. You will have to choose a specific motorcycle license depending on your age.

Here are a few documents you will need to bring for each specific age group:

Age 13 And Above

If you are a minimum of 13 years old, you will have to provide the following set of documents:

  • Your birth certificate or a certified copy of it.
  • Your social security card (must not be laminated).
  • Two documents that give proof of residency.
  • A written and signed consent form. This can be done by a legal guardian or by a parent.
  • Proof of motorcycle license test or road test completion.
  • In some cases, you can also be asked to provide a document detailing your place of study.

Age 18 And Above

While there is also a 15 and above section, it is mostly similar to the 13 and above section. This is why I’ll directly talk about what documents you need if you are 18 and above.

  • Your birth certificate or a certified copy of it.
  • Your social security card.
  • Proof of residency.
  • Motorcycle license test or road test completion.
  • Your legal status.

Types Of Motorcycle Licenses

The state of New Mexico has three different types of licenses. I’ll talk about all of them in this section and explain their differences:

Type 1: New Class M 13+ License

This license is for children who are above 13 years old. It will be issued when they have completed a motorcycle safety course.

It limits them to a motorcycle under 100 CC. They must have no passengers while driving and must always wear a helmet.

Type 2: New Class M 15+ License

This license is for children who are above 15 years old. It will be issued when they have completed a motorcycle safety course.

This also results in the waiving of the motorcycle license test. It is not limited to a motorcycle of particular CC. They are still required to have no passengers while driving and must always wear helmets.

Type 3: New Class M 18+ License

This license is for people who are above 18 years old. It will be issued when they have completed the motorcycle license test.

According to their endorsement, this must be done on a motorcycle of that size. It has no limitations when it comes to passengers. You will, however, still be required to use a helmet.

How To Apply For Your New Mexico Motorcycle License

Now that all that information is out, you can get your license.

Step 1: Get A Driver’s License

  • Firstly, you must get a standard driver’s license before moving towards a motorcycle license.
  • This process involves you submitting similar documents as requested above. It will also go through similar steps, which I’ll mention throughout the article.
  • You will likely have to pass the tests below to get a driving license.
  • When you are done with all this, you can easily return to the MVD office and collect your license.

Step 2: Testing For Your Motorcycle License

You will now have to pass a few tests in order to secure your motorcycle license. This is the part where most people struggle with. I’ll define all of these tests below.

1. Motorcycle Written Test/License Test

The motorcycle written test, also known as the license test, is a simple knowledge-based test. It goes over the fundamental rules set by the state on the road.

This test comprises 25 questions. All of these questions are multiple-choice. You will have to guess 20 of them correctly to pass the test.

If you need extra prep for this test, try reading up on the motorcycle training manual of the state of New Mexico.

2. Motorcycle Road Test

Once you complete the written test, you can proceed to the road test. This test is known for assessing you based on your driving skills.

Instructors and invigilators will rate you based on applying your knowledge. This test will happen either on an official course or on publicly available roads.

The tasks include turning, speeding up, slowing down, swerving, and carrying out U-Turns. To prepare for this test, you should put in a lot of practice while using the previous two licenses.

You can also train on private property if you are going for an 18+ motorcycle license and have enough space.

Step 3: Collecting Your Paperwork

With all the tests now behind you, you should be on the final stretch to getting a motorcycle license. All you need to do now is the remaining paperwork.

Return to the MVD office and collect the documents that they give you back. Additionally, you may be asked to fill in other documents as well.

Ensure all the documents are accounted for so that you do not have any issues down the line.

Step 4: Go To Your Local Driver’s License Office

At this point, you should be free from all the paperwork and tests. Now all that is left is for you to return to the MVD office and wrap up the entire process.

Make sure that you pay all of your fees. These fees will apply according to the tests you gave and the license you are going for.

Once all your payments are cleared, you will be given a temporary license. Your permanent license should be sent to your place of residence at a minimum of 2 to 3 weeks.

Ways To Get A Motorcycle Endorsement In NM

The way to get a motorcycle endorsement is roughly the same as getting a motorcycle license. Here is how you can get one:

Step 1: Choose And Apply For A Motorcycle Endorsement

You must walk down to the MVD and ask for a motorcycle endorsement.

Make sure that you bring the documents that I have listed above. You should also have a fair bit of cash on you.

There are three endorsements, W, Y & Z, each with specifics you should know about.

Step 2: Take The Tests

Once you have chosen and applied for your endorsement, you can move on to the next step.

You will be asked to take the tests mentioned above in the article; the written test and the road test.

You might be able to skip them if you underwent a basic motorcycle training course in the past.

Step 3: Pay The Fees And Collect The Endorsement

Now that the tedious parts are over, you can simply return to the office and pay your fees. You will have your endorsement sent to you in a week.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: How Long Will It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In New Mexico?

If you decide to get your license the normal way, you will get your motorcycle license within three weeks.

The entire process ends once you get your license in the mail. It will be sent to you at your place of residence.

Q2: How Much Will It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In New Mexico?

The state of New Mexico has a different cost for different license lengths. The type of the license remains the same but the duration of its validity changes. A standard four-year license will cost you $18.

If you want to double this duration to 8 years, you will have to pay $34. There is also a convenience fee you have to pay as well.

Q3: Should I Have A License To Ride A Motorcycle In New Mexico?

The state of New Mexico has it written in the rules, which say you need a motorcycle license to legally ride the motorcycle.

If you are caught driving your motorcycle without a license, you will likely have to pay a fine. Furthermore, you may also get your motorcycle impounded as well.

You may also be interested in my article: New Mexico Motorcycle Helmet Laws


With so many details to keep track of, it is no wonder that people cannot understand how the motorcycle licensing process works.

It is, therefore, understandable if they need to be reminded of how to get a motorcycle license in New Mexico.

After finishing this article, you should no longer need a reminder. You should be easily able to work towards your license and remember the steps you need to take.

Recent Posts