How To Get A Motorcycle License In Missouri

Beast Riders is reader-supported. This post contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Motorcycle licenses are an important part of becoming a motorcycle rider. They are required in many states and help ensure that riders have the skills necessary to operate a motorcycle safely.

They are not optional, and riding without one cannot result in serious consequences. I have tried to cover many states and their license requirements in my blog.

In case if you are wondering how to get a motorcycle license in Missouri, you need to provide some documents, pass a couple of tests, and finally receive your motorcycle license.

The process of getting a motorcycle license may seem simple enough but believe me, when I tell you, you need to read through this guide. It needs to be crystal clear to you what the requirements are and the steps too.

Motorcycle License Requirements In Missouri

Learn about Missouri motorcycle laws

Before you can get your license, there are some things you’ll need to know about the process.

Let’s look at the requirements one must meet to move on with getting a license in the state.

Knowing Your Age

The state of Missouri has classified its applicants into two age groups. Both of them have slightly different requirements when it comes to getting a motorcycle license.

Let’s see what those exact requirements are below:

Age Under 18

If you are under the age of 18 and are above the age of 15 and a half, the state will classify you as a minor. Even if you have moved from out of state, with a full license, you will not have full privileges here.

Instead, you will be granted an intermediate license until you are 18 years old or at a maximum of 30 days away from your 18th birthday.

The main differentiating requirement is that you need a parent or a legal guardian to be with you at the time of your application.

You will also need to submit the following:

  • Your date and place where you were born.
  • Your social security number.
  • And proof of residence in Missouri.
  • Proof that you have completed a motorcycle rider training course.

Age 18 Above

When it comes to people over the age of 18 or, in other words, adults, they don’t need to be accompanied by anyone, such as their guardians.

Completing the motorcycle training course is not important for people in this age group.

Regardless, getting a permit is the first step to meeting the requirements for a motorcycle license.

For that, they need to submit all the documents as minors. Tests will be conducted, so ensure you have prepared yourself completely.

Types Of Motorcycle Licenses

Another important thing for all people applying for motorcycle licenses is to know about the types of licenses that are being offered by the state. In the case of Missouri, you have only two you need to take note of.

Restricted License

The first is a motorcycle permit, which you need to obtain before getting a full license.

This is a restricted license. What this means is that you cannot perform some activities already available with a full-fledged license.

For example, people holding this permit may not drive more than 30 minutes after sunset or before sunrise.

They are not permitted to ride more than 50 miles away from the legal residential address. They are also not allowed to carry passengers.

Class M License

The next one, all aim to get, is a full-fledged motorcycle license called the Class M. This one waives all restrictions a motorcycle permit sets.

Minors have to wait at least 182 days after receiving this permit to get a hold of this license. Plus, they will only receive an intermediate class M license, which restricts riding from 1-5 am.

How To Apply For Your Missouri Motorcycle License

Learning how to apply for a motorcycle license in Missouri is perhaps why you visited this article. Well, the section you were waiting for has finally arrived.

Let’s look at all the steps required for getting a motorcycle license in Missouri.

Step 1: Get A Learner’s Permit

As I have discussed in this article before, Missouri requires you to earn a learner’s permit before you get your license. It has been designed to ensure people get sufficient time to learn the road rules.

People who are at least 15 years old need to present important documents, all of which have been mentioned above.

They also need to pass a vision screening and a written test for motorcycles and cars, namely class M and class F. With this, they also need to pay a $9.25 permit fee.

People above the age of 16 need to submit the same documents, but they don’t need to complete the class F written exam, only one for class M. The fee is $7 for people in this age group.

Step 2: Testing For Your Motorcycle License

The tests are perhaps the most important part of getting a motorcycle license. They will allow the state to determine whether you are good enough to ride on the road.

Let’s see what types of tests are conducted by the state of Missouri.

1. Motorcycle Written Test

The written test, which is taken at the time of getting a permit, consists of 25 questions. You need to pass with 80% or, in other words, 20 correct answers.

Make sure to study hard for it. There are many practice tests available online. I encourage you to try them out to familiarize yourself with the difficulty level.

2. Motorcycle Road Test

The road test is taken when you are applying for an M-Class license. You will be tested against various scenarios, so it can be established that you are good to go on the road.

The road test can be waived if you complete a motorcycle safety course authorized by the state. Ensure to bring your completion card at the time of completion to skip the skills test altogether.

Step 3: Pay All Required Fees

Fortunately, in the state of Missouri, the fee for getting a license is not too steep. At the start, you need to pay $9.25 for the permit.

Regarding the license, you need to pay $13.50 for one valid for three years or $27 for one valid for six years. That is pretty cheap!

Step 4: Wait For Your License To Arrive

If you have passed all motorcycle tests and are clear to receive the license, the state will send one out to your given residential address within a few weeks.

You may be tempted to take your two-wheeler out during that time, but in that period, you are still not fully authorized to ride on the streets of Missouri.

Ways To Get A Motorcycle Endorsement In MO

A full endorsement can only be achieved when you are at the age of 18. The steps are pretty simple, so let’s take a look.

Step 1: Provision Of Documents

You need to submit these important things to proceed:

  • Your name.
  • Date and place of birth.
  • Social security number.
  • Proof of residency.

Step 2: Pass All Tests

You need to pass class F and class M tests before proceeding. You may already be aware of the latter.

A class F license is also called a driver’s license. As an endorsement can only be done on a driver’s license, you need one to get it.

A skills test will also be taken to ensure you are skilled enough to be on the road.

Step 3: Take A Safety Course

There is also an option for people to skip the road test by taking a safety course.

These courses are offered in many areas of the state, so you don’t have to worry about traveling too far to learn from them.

They are mandatory for people under 16 and optional for those over it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. How Long Will It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In Missouri?

If you are a minor, you need to get a permit first. Before applying for a class M license, a permit must be held for at least 182 days or six months.

People older than the age of 18 need to meet the requirements for an intermediate license.

Q2. How Much Will It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In Missouri?

For a 3-year class M license, you will need to pay $13.50 for a six-year one, you need to pay $27. I would certainly get the six-year one if it was up to me.

That is a long duration, and you would not have to worry about renewing it anytime soon.

Q3. Should I Have A License To Ride A Motorcycle In Missouri?

Yes, riding with a license, or at least a permit, is necessary for the state of Missouri.

There are no exceptions. So, make sure you get one as soon as possible. If not, the state could charge you with some serious fines.

You may also be interested in my article: Missouri Motorcycle Helmet Laws


Congratulations! You’ve reached the end of this guide, and you now know how to get a motorcycle license in Missouri.

It’s important to remember that the process of getting your license is just as important as knowing how to ride the bike.

Missouri wants its riders to be safe, requiring you to take classes and pass a test. This ensures that you have been taught proper riding techniques, which will help keep you safe on the road.

So, now all that’s left is for you to follow this guide and get out there on two wheels!

Recent Posts