You’re probably wondering why you’re thinking about getting a motorcycle license. Many people who get their motorcycle licenses never buy a car!
After all, isn’t a car more convenient and safer? Well, yes—but the truth is that motorcycles are also fun and can be a great way to meet people in your community.
Different states have different license registration procedures, which makes knowing everything a headache. One question we get a lot is, how to get a motorcycle license in Georgia?
There are two ways to do this in a state. You could either complete a safety course or go the traditional route and give all respective tests to prove you are a fit rider.
You might be thinking, all of this looks simple enough. Well, the truth is, when you get into the detail of this law, you will understand that things are not as straightforward as it seems at first glance.
Instead of worrying, I suggest you take a few minutes to read this article. Everything you need to know is present here.
Let’s get started!
Motorcycle License Requirements In Georgia
This section will look at exactly what is needed for people to apply for a motorcycle license in Georgia. If these requirements are not met, they might not be able to apply for one.
Knowing Your Age
Like many other states, Georgia has split up its motorcycle law according to different age groups.
The age group in which you lie determines what steps you have to follow. Yes, that is right! You need to do different things for different age groups.
Let’s take a look!
Age Under 18
- Your age should be 16 to obtain a motorcycle permit for this age group. Yes, you read that right.
- People under the age of 18 can get a permit only.
- If you are under 17 years old, you must complete a 30-hour driver/training course and a Georgia behind the Wheel program. Yes, you need to learn how to drive a car too!
- All of this needs to be done before obtaining a Georgia motorcycle license.
- In addition, you will need to pass a vision and knowledge exam before applying for your license. A guardian will also sign the application for a driver’s license.
- A permit does have restrictions. Some things need to be followed. You cannot ride at night. You are not allowed to carry any passengers.
- Safety equipment is not optional when holding a permit. Finally, a DOT-approved helmet should be worn at all times.
Age 17 Above
- You’ll have to pass a few tests to get your motorcycle license at age 17.
- First, you’ll have to pass the knowledge exam, which the Department of Driver Services gives. After that, you’ll have to pass the motorcycle road skills test.
- This is a hands-on test that a DDS examiner will administer.
- Finally, you’ll need to pass a vision exam at an approved facility before you can be issued your license—and if you’re under 18; your application must be signed by a parent or guardian.
- These steps are also applicable for people who don’t want to learn the 30-hour safety course. As the introduction explains, this is the second way of getting a license.
Types Of Motorcycle Licenses
There are two types of motorcycle licenses in Georgia: M license and Class M Instructional Permit (MP).
If you’re 18 or older, you can apply and receive your M license. If you’re under 18, you’ll need to apply for a Class M Instructional Permit (MP) first.
Type 1: M License
The M license is for 18 years old. You can get this license if you’ve completed the Georgia Motorcycle Rider Education Program. You must pass written and skills tests on your motorcycle before applying for an M license.
The M License covers all motor driver vehicles that can be used on two or three wheels. This includes motorcycles, mopeds, and other similar vehicles.
Type 2: Class M Instructional Permit (MP)
You can apply for a Class M Instructional Permit (MP) if your age is less than 18. The DMV will take all usual tests, so ensure you are prepared.
You’ll need to accompany a parent or legal guardian when applying for this permit. The difference between getting a license and a permit is that a permit has more requirements.
In this case, you must complete a motorcycle safety course and a driver’s course. Those are certainly a lot of hoops to get through for a permit!
How To Apply For Your Georgia Motorcycle License
Let’s get down to the crux of the matter. Most of you have come here to see the steps that need to be taken to apply for a motorcycle license in Georgia. Well, here they are.
Step 1: Gather All Required Documents
To apply for your Georgia motorcycle license, you’ll need to gather the following documentation:
- Documentation that you are a resident of the USA.
- Social security number.
If under 18 years of age:
- ADAP certificate of completion.
- Proof of school enrollment.
- Certificate of completed driver education course.
- All out-of-state licenses must be shown.
All of these must be completely ready before visiting your nearest DDS office to apply for your license.
Step 2: Testing For Your Motorcycle License
Next up is test. Motorcycle license tests have been designed for officials to understand if you are good enough for riding on the road.
There are two types of tests: skills and knowledge tests. Read more to find out more.
1. Motorcycle Knowledge Exam
The knowledge exam is a two-part test that tests your knowledge of road rules and signs.
You must pass both parts to obtain a motorcycle license. The road rules test has 20 questions; you must get 15 correct answers to pass.
The same thing applies to the road sign test too. Make sure you are prepared, as these tests are never easy.
The good news is if you have the 90-day license waiver for completing the motorcycle safety course, you don’t need to take this test. That course covers everything that is needed to know.
2. Motorcycle Skills Test
You must first pass a motorcycle skills test to apply for your Georgia motorcycle license. You can either complete a safety program course or take the rider’s skill test.
If you choose to complete a safety program course, you’ll have 90 days to submit it at a DDS center, so you don’t have to take the test.
If you choose to take the rider’s skill test, you must be prepared. Even a small mistake could cost you getting your license. So, make sure you are prepared to do so.
Step 3: Paying The Required Fees
Before getting your motorcycle license, you must have a learner’s permit. You can get that by paying the required fee of $10.
Once you have your learner’s permit, you can apply for a Class M license. That will cost you $32. There may be a few service charges the state charges, but they are not a lot.
Ways To Get A Motorcycle Endorsement In GA
The state of Georgia does not endorse licenses for people. They give out dedicated licenses, meaning there is no way to get a license endorsed in the state.
Let’s take a look at the steps!
Step 1: Pass Required Tests
First, pass the knowledge exam and skills test. These tests will ensure you know what you’re doing and how to do it before getting on the road.
The knowledge exam is the first step in this process. Once you pass it, you can schedule an appointment with the testing center to take the skills test.
Step 2: Provide All Important Documentation
You must provide all necessary documentation if you are applying for a motorcycle license. The most important of these is proof of residence in the US and a valid identity card or driver’s license.
If you are under 18, you need additional documents such as school enrollment proof and a completed driver’s education course certificate.
Step 3: Pay All Required Dues
You’ll need to pay all required dues to the state before you can get your motorcycle license.
The state will charge you $10 for a motorcycle permit and $32 for your license issuance. If you renew your license, it’ll cost an additional fee.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. How Long Will It Take To Get A Motorcycle License In Georgia?
It takes 30 days to get a motorcycle license in Georgia. You can expect to receive your new motorcycle license within 30 days of applying, as long as you provide the required documents and meet all other requirements.
Q2. How Much Will It Cost To Get A Motorcycle License In Georgia?
The first step is getting your permit, which costs $10. Then, you can apply for your license and pay $32 for it—your fees will cover the cost of processing your application and issuing your license. A few service charges may be included too.
Q3. Should I Have A License To Ride A Motorcycle In Georgia?
Yes, you should have a license to ride a motorcycle in Georgia. According to Georgia law, riding a motorcycle without a license is illegal. Lastly, if you’re caught multiple times, you could have your motorcycle taken away from you.
I hope my guide has been helpful if you’re looking how to get a motorcycle license in Georgia. I’ve included all the information you need to know about how to get your license easily.
Now that you know all the steps, you can head down to the nearest DDS office and finally apply for one!
Remember that this is only one part of the process! Once you have your license, plenty of training and practice goes into being a safe rider.
You can never be experienced enough, so make sure to use every opportunity to learn. I wish you luck in becoming a responsible motorcycle-riding Georgia citizen!
I am a passionate blogger who wants to spread my interest in motorcycles. Fueled by my love for motorcycles, I provide readers with valuable insights and updates on motorcycles’ informative and engaging topics and document the latest happenings in the biking community. Despite my hectic schedule, I can provide these blogs, which involve regular trips to the gym and sports like mountain biking and BMX. I am usually available most of the time, so be sure to join me on my journey of motorcycles and bikes! I appreciate a quiet and simple life and am always eager to interact with my readers to provide helpful information on my blog site.